AGENCY/DEPARTMENT: INDUSTRY, INNOVATION, SCIENCE, RESEARCH AND TERTIARY EDUCATION

TOPIC: Overseas Councillors

REFERENCE: Question on Notice (Hansard, Monday 28 May 2012, page 98)

QUESTION No.: BI-44

Ms Kelly: Largely the network of overseas councillors that were formerly with DEEWR have transferred to us. I think there is one exception. I will take on notice and confirm. A councillor working more on the employment side of the portfolio did not come. But I think all of the other members of the overseas council and network have transferred to the new DIISRTE department to join the four posts that we already had overseas.

Senator COLBECK: So which is the one that has not?

Ms Kelly: I am just confirming the overseas councillor that has not transferred to DEEWR is one that was working with the International Labour Organisation in the OECD.

Mr Griew: There are two. The International Labour Organisation has a DEEWR post there. There is the OECD, to which the council level Australian based staff member will be

continuing with DEEWR but will continue to do work for us. It is just that the majority of the responsibilities sat on the DEEWR side of the portfolio.

Senator COLBECK: So those two remain in place but stayed with DEEWR?

Mr Griew: Yes. That is right.

Senator COLBECK: So there is still the same number of people there but they have moved in classification?

Mr Griew: That is not a change of classification.

Senator COLBECK: A change in department?

Mr Griew: Well, they stayed. It is the same number of aid based councillors and the same number of locally engaged staff. In each case, we had to make a decision about which portfolio's interest the majority of their work aligned with.

Senator COLBECK: It might pay if you give us on notice the posts that have relocated departments. You have given me the two that have stayed with DEEWR.

Mr Griew: Sure. We can give you a list of posts that moved.

Answer

The following posts relocated from the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations to the Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education:

- Belgium;
- India;
- Indonesia;
- Japan;
- Korea;
- Malaysia;
- People's Republic of China;

- Singapore;Taiwan;Thailand;

- Vietnam; and
- United States of America.