The Senate

Standing Committee on Economics

Budget estimates 2008–09

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.		

© Commonwealth of Australia 2008

ISBN 978-0-642-71919-5

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Members

Senator Annette Hurley, Chair South Australia, ALP Senator Alan Eggleston, Deputy Chair Western Australia, LP Senator Mark Bishop Western Australia, ALP Senator David Bushby Tasmania, LP Senator Barnaby Joyce Queensland, NATS South Australia, ALP Senator Anne McEwen Senator Andrew Murray Western Australia, AD Senator Ruth Webber Western Australia, ALP

Other senators in attendance

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Tasmania, LP Senator Lyn Allison Victoria, AD Senator Cory Bernardi South Australia, LP Senator Simon Birmingham South Australia, LP Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell Queensland, NATS Senator the Hon George Brandis SC Queensland, LP Senator Bob Brown Tasmania, AG Senator George Campbell New South Wales, ALP Senator Grant Chapman South Australia, LP Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck Tasmania, LP Senator the Hon Helen Coonan New South Wales, LP Senator Mathias Cormann Western Australia, LP New South Wales, LP Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells Senator Mary Jo Fisher South Australia, LP Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan New South Wales, LP **Senator Steve Hutchins** New South Wales, ALP Senator the Hon David Johnston Western Australia, LP Senator Kate Lundy Australian Capital Territory, ALP Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald Queensland, LP Senator Christine Milne Tasmania, AG Queensland, ALP Senator Claire Moore Senator Kerry O'Brien Tasmania, ALP Senator Stephen Parry Tasmania, LP Senator Marise Payne New South Wales, LP Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson Victoria, LP

Secretariat

Mr John Hawkins, Secretary
Dr Richard Grant, Principal Research Officer
Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer
Mr Glenn Ryall, Estimates/Research Officer
Ms Lauren McDougall, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: <u>economics.sen@aph.gov.au</u>

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics <a href="http://www.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
Report to the Senate	1
Introduction	1
Changes to portfolio structures and outcomes	1
Questions on notice	1
General comments	2
Record of proceedings	2
Matters raised - Innovation, Industry, Science and Research portfolio	2
Matters raised – Resources, Energy and Tourism portfolio	4
Matters raised – Treasury portfolio	6
Appendix 1	13
Abbreviations	
Appendix 2	15
Index to proof Hansard transcripts	
2 June 2008	15
3 June 2008	15
4 June 2008	16
5 June 2008	16
Appendix 3	17
Documents tabled	
2 June 2008	17
3 June 2008	17
4 June 2008	17
5 June 2008	17

Appendix 4	19
Portfolio structure and outcomes for the Innovation, Industry, Science and Research Portfolio	
Appendix 5	21
Portfolio structure and outcomes for the Resources, Energy and Tourism Portfolio	
Appendix 6	23
Portfolio structure and outcomes for the Treasury Portfolio	