Senate Standing Committee on Economics

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education Portfolio
Additional Estimates Hearing 2011-12
15 February 2012

AGENCY/DEPARTMENT: AGENCY NAME OR DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY, INNOVATION, SCIENCE, RESEARCH AND TERTIARY EDUCATION

TOPIC: PM's Manufacturing Taskforce

REFERENCE: Written Question – Senator Bushby

QUESTION No.: AI-150

There were seven Ministers who were originally chosen to be part of the Prime Minister's so-called Manufacturing Taskforce. Why, in top-level terms, were those particular Ministers selected?

ANSWER

Ministers were chosen on the basis of their respective portfolios exposure to, and potential impact on, the manufacturing industry. Specifically:

- Senator the Hon Kim Carr, the then Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (Deputy Chair) – directly responsible for manufacturing industry policy;
- The Hon Wayne Swan MP, Deputy Prime Minister responsible for Australia's economic policy;
- Senator the Hon Chris Evans, the then Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations responsible for skills and vocational education policy;
- Senator the Hon Penny Wong, Minister for Finance and Deregulation responsible for procurement policy, and reducing the burden of government regulation;
- The Hon Craig Emerson MP, Minister for Trade responsible for export facilitation; and
- The Hon Jason Clare MP, Minister for Defence Materiel responsible for defence procurement.

The Government is currently reviewing the ministerial membership of the Taskforce in light of recent ministerial changes.