The Senate

Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Additional estimates 2011–12

March 2012

© Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-1-74229-584-8

This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra

Membership of the Committee

Members:

Senator Doug Cameron (ALP, NSW) (Chair) Senator Mary Jo Fisher (LP, SA) (Deputy Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk (ALP, TAS) Senator Bridget McKenzie (NATS, VIC) Senator the Hon Lisa Singh (ALP, TAS) Senator Larissa Waters (AG, QLD)

Committee Secretariat

Ms Sophie Dunstone, Acting Secretary Ms Jacquie Hawkins, Research Officer

Committee Address

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3526

Fax: 02 6277 5818

Email: ec.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate_Committees?url=ec_ctte/index.htm

Contents

Membership of the Committee	iii
Report to the Senate	
Introduction	1
Hearings	1
Questions on notice – date for response	1
Portfolio specific issues	2
Climate Change and Energy Efficiency	2
Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities	4
Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy	8
Acknowledgements	10
Appendix 1 – Public hearings agenda	11
Appendix 2 – Documents tabled	15