Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation CommitteeANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 19-23 October 2015

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: Outcome 1: Prime Minister and Cabinet

Topic: Cabinet committees

Senator: Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Question reference number: 84 **Type of question:** Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 4 December 2015

Number of pages: 1

Question:

Can changes to the structure, role and membership of cabinet committees since 15 September 2015 be provided.

Answer:

Please refer to Attachment A.

CABINET COMMITTEES AND TERMS OF REFERENCE – TURNBULL MINISTRY

	Terms of Reference
Parliamentary Business Committee (PBC) The Hen Christopher Pype MR (Chair)	
The Hon Christopher Pyne MP (Chair) Senator the Hon George Brandis QC (Deputy Chair) Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield The Hon Luke Hartsuyker MP	The Parliamentary Business Committee (PBC) considers priorities for the Australian Government's legislation program and requests to the Prime Minister for the presentation of ministerial statements.
The Hon Dr Peter Hendy MP Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO (represented by Senator the Hon Scott Ryan)	Decisions of the PBC do not require the endorsement of the Cabinet.
Expenditure Review Committee (ERC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (Chair) The Hon Warren Truss MP The Hon Scott Morrison MP (Deputy Chair) Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann The Hon Christian Porter MP The Hon Kelly O'Dwyer MP Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO	The Expenditure Review Committee considers matters of detail regarding expenditure for the Budget, the Mid-Year Economic and Fiscal Outlook, and as required by the Chair or Deputy Chair. Decisions of the ERC must be endorsed by the Cabinet.
National Security Committee (NSC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (Chair) The Hon Warren Truss MP (Deputy Chair) The Hon Julie Bishop MP Senator the Hon George Brandis QC The Hon Scott Morrison MP Senator the Hon Marise Payne Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO	The National Security Committee focuses on major international security issues of strategic importance to Australia, border protection policy, national responses to developing situations (either domestic or international) and classified matters relating to aspects of operation and activities of the Australian Intelligence Community. Decisions of the NSC do not require the endorsement of the Cabinet.
Governance Committee (GC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (Chair) The Hon Warren Truss MP The Hon Julie Bishop MP Senator the Hon George Brandis QC	The Governance Committee provides advice and oversight of governance and integrity issues, which include, but are not limited to, the Statement of Ministerial Standards and issues arising from the Lobbyist Code.
National Infrastructure Committee (NIC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (Chair) The Hon Warren Truss MP (Deputy Chair) The Hon Scott Morrison MP Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann The Hon Jamie Briggs MP The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO (represented by Senator the Hon Scott Ryan)	The National Infrastructure Committee will provide advice on the Government's infrastructure agenda to support the nation's productivity including, but not limited to: • progress on major projects; • working with the States, Territories and private sector on infrastructure investment and delivery; and • policies to better meet infrastructure needs. Decisions of the NIC must be endorsed by the Cabinet
Digital Transformation Committee (DTC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (Chair) Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield (Deputy Chair) The Hon Christopher Pyne MP Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann The Hon Peter Dutton MP The Hon Sussan Ley MP The Hon Kelly O'Dwyer MP The Hon Stuart Robert MP Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO	The committee will oversee the Digital Transformation Agenda, and will be responsible for: • strategic priorities for whole-of-government common service delivery platforms and better aligning deliverables with broader Government policies such as smaller government and contestability; • the prioritisation of service transformation investments put forward through the Budget process; and • other high-level policy and service delivery issues, for example if agreement cannot be made at the agency level. Decisions of the DTC must be endorsed by the Cabinet
Service Delivery and Coordination Committee (SDCC)	Terms of Reference
The Hon Christopher Pyne MP (Chair) The Hon Sussan Ley MP The Hon Mal Brough MP Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO (represented by Senator the Hon Scott Ryan)	This committee considers the implementation of the Government's key priorities, including joined up service delivery and communications.