Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation CommitteeANSWERS TO OUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 19-23 October 2015

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: Outcome 2: Indigenous

Topic: COAG Land Review

Senator: Senator the Hon Jan McLucas **Question reference number:** 297

Type of question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 4 December 2015

Number of pages: 4

Question:

In relation to the COAG Land Review, which stakeholders has the Expert Working Group consulted with? Provide a list.

- a. How were these consultations undertaken? Was there a formal submission process?
- b. If so, how many submissions were received?

Answer:

A list of stakeholders consulted by the Expert Indigenous Working Group is at Attachment A. The Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet also consulted key stakeholders and these are noted at the end of Attachment A.

As part of a targeted consultation process, the Expert Indigenous Working Group met with key Indigenous, Government and industry stakeholders across the country and attended key national forums including the 2015 National Native Title Conference and the Australian Human Rights Commission's Indigenous Leaders Roundtable on Property Rights.

The Expert Indigenous Working Group wrote to nearly 200 stakeholders inviting written submissions to the Investigation. Members of the public were able to contact the Expert Indigenous Working Group through the Department's website. The Investigation received a total of 36 written submissions.

EXPERT INDIGENOUS WORKING GROUP STAKEHOLDER CONSULTATION LIST AT 4 NOVEMBER 2015

The Expert Indigenous Working Group met with, wrote to and/or received a written submission from the following stakeholders:

- Aarnja Limited
- Aboriginal Land Commissioner
- Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania
- Aboriginal Land Trust (South Australia)
- Aboriginal Lands Trust (Western Australia)
- Aboriginal Peak Organisations Northern Territory
- All Prescribed Bodies Corporate
- Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara
- Anindilyakwa Land Council
- Arnhem Land Progress Aboriginal Corporation
- Australian Bankers Association
- Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
- Australian Human Rights Commission Mick Gooda Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
- Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
- Bulganunna Aboriginal Corporation PBC
- Buurabalayji Thalanyji Aboriginal Corporation PBC
- Cape York Institute/Partnership
- Cape York Land Council
- Carpentaria Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
- Central Desert Native Title Services
- Central Land Council
- Chamber of Minerals and Energy of WA
- Darkingjung Local Aboriginal Land Council
- Dr Heidi Norman, University of Technology Sydney
- Dr Sharon Harwood, James Cook University
- Dunghutti Elders Council PBC
- Executive Director Township Leasing
- Federal Court of Australia
- Federation of Victorian Traditional Owner Corporations
- Goldfields Land and Sea Council
- Gumati Corporation
- Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation
- Indigenous Advisory Council
- Indigenous Business Australia (IBA)
- Indigenous Land Corporation (ILC)
- Jabalbina Yalanji PBC
- Jawun Indigenous Corporate Partnerships
- Kaiela Institute
- Kimberley Land Council

- Kirrae-Whurrong Aboriginal Corporation
- KRED Enterprises
- Larrakia Nation
- Laynhapuy Homelands Aboriginal Corporation
- Malu Lamar (Torres Strait Islander) Corporation PBC
- Maralinga Tjarutja
- Minerals Council of Australia
- Miriuwung Gajerrong Corporation
- Mr Danny Lester, NSW Deputy Ombudsman (Aboriginal Programmes)
- Mr Klynton Wanganeen
- Mr Noel Pearson
- Mr Parry Agius
- Mr Richard King
- Mr Tauto Sansbury, Garridja and leader of the Freedom Movement
- Ms Khatija Thomas, Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement SA
- National Congress of Australia's First People
- National Farmers Federation
- National Native Title Council
- National Native Title Tribunal
- Native Title Services Victoria
- New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council
- Ngan Aak-Kunch Aboriginal Corporation PBC
- North Australian Indigenous Land and Sea Management Alliance (NAILSMA)
- North Queensland Land Council
- Northern Land Council
- NPY Women's Council
- NTSCorp
- Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations
- Prof George Wilson, the Australian National University
- Professor Marcia Langton
- Queensland South Native Title Services
- Reconciliation Australia
- South Australian Native Title Services
- South West Land and Sea Council
- Tiwi Land Council
- Torres Strait Regional Authority
- Tribal Warrior Association
- Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community Council
- Wunan Foundation
- Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation (YMAC)
- Yawuru Native Title Holders Aboriginal Corporation PBC
- Yothu Yindi Foundation

The Commonwealth also met with or wrote to the following stakeholders:

- Association of Mining and Exploration Companies
- Australian Local Government Association
- Australian Regional Tourism Network

- Business Council of Australia
- Financial Services Council
- Outback Stores
- Parks Australia
- Regional Australia InstituteRum Jungle Resources Ltd
- Tourism Australia
- Urban Development Institute of Australia