Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 20-24 October 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet **Outcome/Program:** Outcome 2: Indigenous **Topic:** Universities – discussions and meetings

Senator: Senator Nova Peris **Question reference number:** 58 **Type of question:** FPA Friday 24 October 2014, pages 50 & 5 **Date set by the committee for the return of answer:** 5 December 2014

Number of pages: 2

Question:

Senator PERIS: Are you able to advise which universities the minister has met with or the department met with, as you have referred to?

Ms Jolly: I can take that on notice. I need to check.

Senator PERIS: Okay. Who made the decisions about which universities were included in those discussions you were just talking about?

Ms Jolly: I would take that on notice, but I would say it was a discussion between us and the Department of Education. There are a range of established consultative groups, and so many people from those consultative groups who were there at the discussion. But I would need to take it on notice to give you some more details about the exact composition of that group.

Senator PERIS: So the Department of Education determined the universities that were selected?

Ms Jolly: No, I would need to clarify exactly how that worked, to make sure that I am clear on the way that that worked—because it was designed between departments, so I would need to double-check exactly how that was finalised.

Answer:

The list of invitees to a Roundtable on 8 October 2014 was agreed between the Department of Education and the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Attendees at this Roundtable included representatives of:

- the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Advisory Council;
- the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Consortium;
- Universities Australia;
- Innovative Research Universities; and
- the Group of Eight Universities.

The Regional Universities Network was also invited but was unable to send a representative.

A list of universities represented by university groups is at **Attachment A**.

Attachment A

Membership of Universities Australia:

- Australian Catholic University
- Bond University
- Central Queensland University
- Charles Darwin University
- Charles Sturt University
- Curtin University
- Deakin University
- Edith Cowan University
- Federation University Australia
- Griffith University
- James Cook University
- La Trobe University
- Macquarie University
- Monash University
- Murdoch University
- Queensland University of Technology
- RMIT University
- Southern Cross University
- Swinburne University of Technology
- The Australian National University

Membership of Innovative Research Universities:

- Charles Darwin University
- Griffith University
- James Cook University

Membership of the Group of Eight Universities:

- Monash University
- The Australian National University
- The University of Adelaide
- The University of Melbourne

Membership of the Regional Universities Network:

- Central Queensland University
- Federation University Australia
- Southern Cross University

- The Flinders University of South Australia
- The University of Adelaide
- The University of Melbourne
- The University of Notre Dame Australia
- The University of Queensland
- The University of Sydney
- The University of Western Australia
- University of Canberra
- University of Newcastle
- University of New England
- University of New South Wales
- University of South Australia
- University of Southern Queensland
- University of Tasmania
- University of Technology, Sydney
- University of the Sunshine Coast
- University of Western Sydney
- University of Wollongong
- Victoria University
- La Trobe University
- Murdoch University
- The Flinders University of South Australia
- The University of Queensland
- The University of Sydney
- The University of Western Australia
- University of New South Wales
- University of New England
- University of Southern Queensland
- University of the Sunshine Coast