ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 18-22 November 2013

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: 1.1 Prime Minister and Cabinet

Topic: Advisory bodies

Senator: Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Question reference number: 121

Type of Question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 17 January 2014

Number of pages: 4

Question:

- 1. Have any portfolio advisory bodies, boards or committees been abolished since 7 September 2013? If so, please provide details including (a) name (b) function (c) date of abolition (d) membership at the time of abolition (e) reason for abolition and (f) the decision-maker?
- 2. Have any portfolio advisory bodies, boards or committees been created since 7 September 2013? If so, please provide details including (a) name (b) function (c) date of creation (d) membership (e) process for selecting members and (f) the decision-maker?

Answer:

1. Australian Social Inclusion Board

The Government abolished the Australian Social Inclusion Board (ASIB) on 18 September 2013.

The ASIB was established to advise the then Government on its social inclusion agenda.

Membership of the ASIB was as follows:

- Chair Ms Lin Hatfield Dodds
- Deputy Chair Dr Jeff Harmer
- Board Members:
 - o Dr Emma Cassar
 - o Dr John Falzon
 - o Dr Ngiare Brown
 - o Dr Tom Calma AO
 - o Ms Anna Buduls

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 18-22 November 2013

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

- o Ms Anne Hampshire
- o Ms Catriona Noble
- o Ms Zoya Patel
- o Mr Toney Keenan

Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council

The Government abolished the Not-for-Profit Sector Reform Council (NFPSRC) on 18 September 2013.

The NFPSRC was established to support the Office for the Not-for-Profit Sector to implement the then Government's agenda for this sector.

Membership of the NPSRC was as follows:

- Chair Ms Linda Lavarch
- Deputy Chair Ms Anne Robinson
- Board Members:
 - o Mr Glenn Appleyard
 - o Ms Sandy Blackburn-Wright
 - o Ms Kasy Chambers
 - o Mr Michael Coleman
 - o Mr David Crosbie
 - o Ms Cassandra Goldie
 - o Ms Suzie Haslehurst
 - o Ms Evelyn O'Loughlin
 - o Mr Frank Quinlan

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 18-22 November 2013

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

2. Business Advisory Council

The Business Advisory Council (BAC) was announced on 26 September 2013.

The BAC has been established to facilitate an ongoing dialogue between the Government and representatives of Australian business, and to provide the Prime Minister advice on building a stronger and more diverse economy to maximise Australia's potential.

Membership of the BAC is as follows:

- Chair Mr Maurice Newman AC
- Members:
 - o Professor Gary Banks AO
 - o Mr Michael Chaney AO
 - o Mr Peter Fox AM
 - o Mr Daniel Grollo
 - o Mr John Hart
 - o Mr Barry Irvin AM
 - o Mr Graham Kraehe AO
 - o Mr Solomon Lew
 - o Ms Catherine Livingstone AO
 - o Mr Jacques Nasser AO
 - o Dr Jane Wilson

Council membership was determined by the Prime Minister following an expression of interest process and through consultation with the Business Advisory Council Chair, Mr Newman.

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Supplementary Budget Estimates 18-22 November 2013

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council

On 25 September 2013 the Prime Minister established the Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council and appointed Mr Warren Mundine as the Chair, followed by an announcement of the full membership on 23 November.

The Council will provide advice to the Government on Indigenous affairs, and will focus on practical changes to improve the lives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. The Prime Minister released the Council's terms of reference publicly on 5 December 2013.

The members include prominent Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians with expertise in different areas, including Indigenous culture, health, business, economic development, employment, education, and youth issues. The Council is not a representative body.

Membership of the Council is as follows:

- Chair Mr Warren Mundine
- Members
 - o Mr Richard Ah Mat
 - o Ms Leah Armstrong
 - o Dr Ngiare Brown
 - o Ms Josephine Cashman
 - o Ms Gail Kelly
 - o Mr Djambawa Marawili AM
 - o Mr Bruce Martin
 - Mr David Peever
 - o Mr Andrew Penfold
 - o Professor Peter Shergold AC
 - o Mr Daniel Tucker

The Council membership was determined by the Prime Minister, the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister, and Mr Mundine, following an expression of interest process. Appointments were made by the Prime Minister.