Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee — Budget Estimates Hearing—May 2017

Answers to Questions on Notice

Parliamentary departments, Department of Parliamentary Services

Topic: Indigenous Staff - classification levels

Question: 28

Hansard Reference: p 117, 22 May 2017

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 7 July 2017

Senator McKENZIE: Thank you. In terms of the classification levels of the current Indigenous staff, are they at the upper or the lower level of those bands?

Ms Hinchcliffe: I would need to take that on notice.

Senator McKENZIE: And, similarly, for the affirmative-measures visitors services officers and security officers, I would like to have some sort of understanding of their levels and where they sit within that—

Ms Hinchcliffe: Yes, I will take that on notice.

Senator McKENZIE: and what measures you are taking as a department to look at leadership roles and more executive positions for Indigenous Australians.

Answer:

a) DPS' Enterprise Agreement provides for minimum and maximum pay points for each classification level. Employees' salaries are increased 3.5% if the employee is rated "effective" or better in the DPS Performance Management Scheme.

Classification	Number of	Number of employees at minimum pay point	Number of employees between minimum and maximum pay point	Number of employees at maximum pay point
PSL 1	1	0	0	1
PSL 1/2	5	2	0	3
PSL 3	2	1	0	1
PSL 6	3	1	1	1
Total	11	4	1	6

b) The Visitor Services Officers Affirmative Measures recruitment classification is PSL 2.

The Parliamentary Security Officers Affirmative Measures recruitment classification is PSL 1/2.

c) There have not been any recruitment exercises for executive positions using affirmative measures. The Indigenous Australian Government Development Program (IAGDP) is a 15 month entry level program coordinated by the Department of Education to provide professional and personal development opportunities for indigenous staff. DPS has had one participant in IAGDP for 2016-17 and expects to have two participants for 2017-18.