Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee Budget Estimates 2015-16

Question on Notice - No. 2

Senator the Hon. Penny Wong: asked the President of the Senate on 25 May 2015 the following:

Hansard, 25 May 2015, p. 19.

Senator WONG: On notice, can someone set that out: which are the spheres of operation of the SMB and the task force, and also the membership? Is that possible?

Ms Callinan: Yes.

Senator WONG: I can ask it here.

The President: I can brief you now if you wish.

Senator WONG: I think it will be useful for everybody if you are happy to. I wonder if we could

clarify it and just make sure that is recorded.

The President: We will provide to you on notice the composition of the security task force, the

composition of the Security Management Board and the functions of each.

Mr President, the Hon Stephen Parry answers:

Security Management Board

The Security Management Board is established by section 65A of the Parliamentary Service Act 1999.

Section 65A(2) sets out the membership of the Board¹, which includes:

- The Secretary of the Department of Parliamentary Services
- An SES employee of the Department of the Senate nominated by the President (the Usher of the Black Rod)
- An SES employee of the Department of the House of Representatives nominated by the Speaker (the Serjeant-at-Arms)
- Either the Commissioner of the AFP, or a Deputy Commissioner or a senior executive nominated by the Presiding Officers (Deputy Commissioner, National Security, Michael Phelan).

Section 65A(5) sets out the functions of the Board, which is to provide advice as required to the Presiding Officers on security policy, and the management or operation of security measures, for Parliament House.

Section 65A(3) allows the Board, with the approval of the Presiding Officers, to invite the heads of other organisations to attend or be represented at meetings of the Board. In October 2014, the Presiding Officers invited representatives of the following agencies to attend meetings of the Board:

- Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
- Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
- Department of Finance

¹ The membership of the Board was expanded to include the Australian Federal Police through the passage of the Parliamentary Service Amendment Act 2015, which was assented to on 1 April 2015.

- Attorney-General's Department and
- Australian Federal Police (which has since become a member of the Board).

Representatives of these agencies have attended subsequent Board meetings.

Further information about the Security Management Board can be found in the submission of the Clerk of the Senate to the Committee's Inquiry into the Parliamentary Service Amendment Bill 2014.

Australian Parliament House Security Taskforce

The Australian Parliament House Security Taskforce is a temporary body that exists to oversee the implementation of a capital works programme of security enhancements for Parliament House.

The Taskforce deals with the technical design, project planning and heritage issues that arise when implementing a comprehensive set of modifications to a building such as Parliament House.

The Taskforce brings together specialist expertise and will guide the implementation of the capital works programme so as to ensure minimal disruption to the business of Parliament.

The membership of the Taskforce includes:

- Speaker of the House of Representatives (Chair)
- President of the Senate
- Representatives from the Department of Parliamentary Services
- Representatives from the Australian Federal Police
- Representatives from the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
- Representatives from the Attorney-General's Department
- Representatives from the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
- Representatives from the Department of Finance