ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: 1.1 Prime Minister and Cabinet

Topic: G20 – B20 and L20

Senator: Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Question reference number: 238

Type of Question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 11 July 2014

Number of pages: 4

Question:

Can the role of (a) the B20 and (b) the L20 be outlined?

Can the membership of (a) the B20 and (b) the L20 be provided?

What amount, if any, has been expended on the operations of (a) the B20 and (b) the L20 since 18 September 2013? Can the expenditure be disaggregated?

Which official meetings or activities have members of (a) the B20 and (b) the L20 attended since 18 September 2013?

Answer:

A number of non-government engagement groups have been formed around the G20 since its initial summit in Washington in 2008. The Business 20 (B20) and Labour 20 (L20) are two such groups, feeding the views of business and organised labour into the inter-governmental G20 process.

There is no formal membership of the B20. Participation has varied, depending on the approach taken by the G20 host government and that country's business community. In April 2013, the then Gillard Government established a B20 Leadership Group, led by Wesfarmers CEO Mr Richard Goyder AO, to run the B20 process during Australia's host year. The current membership of that group is attached.

The L20 is organised by the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) and the OECD Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC). Participants are drawn from the ITUC's international affiliates. In August 2013, the then Rudd Government appointed an Australian L20 Steering Group led by Ms Ged Kearney, President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions, to assist the ITUC and TUAC in managing the L20 process in 2014. The composition of that group is also attached.

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Neither the B20 nor the L20 has received funding from the Government during the period in question.

Members of engagement groups are invited to participate in a wide range of the G20's activities and related meetings. Representatives from the B20 and L20 attended a session of the Sydney G20 sherpa meeting on 12 December 2013 and the joint meeting of G20 sherpas and finance deputies in Melbourne on 22 June 2014. They have also been involved in a range of meetings and activities related to the work of several G20 working groups (the Taskforce on Employment, Development Working Group, Anti-corruption Working Group, Energy Sustainability Working Group and Investment and Infrastructure Working Group).

B20 and L20 representatives attended a G20 engagement roundtable hosted by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister, the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, on 12 May 2014, and a G20 roundtable hosted by the Treasury on 18 March 2014. Members of the B20 attended a conference held by the Treasury and the Institute of International Finance; a roundtable on infrastructure investment; and two receptions in the margins of the Sydney G20 finance ministers and central bank governors meeting in February 2014. Members of the B20 and L20 were also invited to a G20 tax symposium in Tokyo in May 2014 (which the L20 attended) and a conference on small and medium-sized enterprises in June 2014 (which the B20 attended).

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Australian B20 Leadership Group members

Name	Position, organisation
Richard Goyder Chair	Managing Director, Wesfarmers
Mark Adamson	CEO, Fletcher Building
Jillian Broadbent	Panel Member, Clean Energy Finance Corporation
Mark Burrows	Vice Chairman, Credit Suisse
Maile Carnegie	Managing Director, Google Australia
Cameron Clyne	Group CEO, National Australia Bank
Julian Clarke	CEO, News Corp Australia
Andrew Crane	CEO, CBH Group
John Denton	Partner and CEO, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Elmer Funke Kupper	Managing Director and CEO, ASX Limited
Alan Joyce	CEO, Qantas
Gail Kelly	CEO, Westpac Banking Corporation
Grant King	Managing Director, Origin Energy
Andrew Mackenzie	CEO, BHP Billiton
Nicholas Moore	CEO, Macquarie Bank
Ian Narev	CEO, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Heather Ridout	Board member, Australian Reserve Bank
Steve Sargent	President and CEO, GE Australia and New Zealand
Andrew Smith	Country Chair, Shell Australia
Mike Smith	CEO, ANZ Bank
Tony Shepherd	President, Business Council of Australia
Kerry Stokes	Seven Network
Catherine Tanna	Executive Vice President, and Managing Director, BG Australia
David Thodey	CEO, Telstra
David Tudehope	CEO, Macquarie Telecom
Innes Willox	CEO, Australian Industry Group
Sam Walsh	CEO, Rio Tinto
Vacant	CEO, ACCI (Peter Anderson left on 26/02/13)
Vacant	Chairman, Mirvac (James Mackenzie left on 14/11/13)
Vacant	Managing Director, Rio Tinto Aus (David Peever left on 28/02/14)
Vacant	President, Boeing Australia (Ian Thomas left on 11/03/14)
Vacant	CEO, Leighton Holdings (Hamish Tyrwhitt left on 13/03/14)
	1

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Labour 20 Steering Group members

Name	Position & organisation
Ged Kearney	President, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Chair	
Grant Belchamber	International Officer, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Michael Borowick	Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Joe De Bruyn	National Secretary, Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees
-	Association
Mark Burgess	CEO, Police Federation of Australia
Paddy Crumlin	National Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Andrew Dettmer	National President, Australian Manufacturing Workers Union
Charlie Donnelly	National Secretary, National Union of Workers
Nadine Flood	National Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union
Susan Hopgood	Federal Secretary, Australian Education Union
Paul Howes	National Secretary, Australian Workers Union
Bill Jackson	National President, Professional Scientists Australia
Dave Oliver	Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Mark Lenon	Secretary, Unions New South Wales
Tim Lyons	Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions
Grahame McCulloch	General Secretary, National Tertiary Education Union
Ron Monaghan	President, Queensland Council of Unions
Bob Nanva	National Secretary, Rail, Tram and Bus Union
Michael O'Connor	National Secretary, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy
	Union – National
Michele O'Neil	Secretary, Textile Clothing and Footwear Union of Australia
Tony Sheldon	National Secretary, Transport Workers Union
Nathan Safe	President, Australian and International Pilots Association
David Smith	National Secretary, Australian Services Union
Louise Tarrant	National Secretary, United Voice
Lee Thomas	Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing Federation
Andrew Vickers	General Secretary, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy
	Union – Mining and Energy Division
Chris Warren	Federal Secretary, Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance