## **Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee**ANSWERS TO OUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Additional Estimates 2016 - 2017

## Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

**Department/Agency:** Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: Outcome 1: Prime Minister and Cabinet

**Topic:** Digital Transformation Committee of Cabinet

Senator: McAllister, Jenny

**Question reference number:** 178

Type of question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 13 April 2017

Number of pages: 2

## **Question:**

- Does the Digital Transformation Committee of Cabinet (DTC) still operate?
- Who are its members?
- Who chairs the DTC?
- How often does it meet?
- What is the principal purpose of the DTC?
- How many times has it met through 2016 and how many times has it met this year?
- When was it established?
- Since its inception, how many times has the DTC involved the head of its own Digital Transformation Office Mr Shetler in its deliberations and when?

## **Answer:**

The Digital Transformation Committee of Cabinet (DTC) was established on 5 February 2015 and is still in operation. Details of its membership, including the chair, are publicly available via the <a href="https://www.directory.gov.au">www.directory.gov.au</a> website.

As outlined in the 9<sup>th</sup> Edition of the Cabinet Handbook, Cabinet committee meetings are scheduled as required. The DTC met three times in 2016 and once in 2017, as at 17 March 2017.

The DTC oversees the Digital Transformation Agenda, and is responsible for:

- strategic priorities for whole-of-government common service delivery platforms and better aligning deliverables with broader Government policies such as smaller government and contestability
- the prioritisation of service transformation investments put forward through the Budget process
- other high-level policy and service delivery issues, for example if agreement cannot be made at the agency level.

It is a longstanding practice not to disclose the names of those staff or officials who may attend Cabinet and Committee meetings. It is a decision for the Prime Minister, the Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, as to who attends Cabinet and associated committees.