Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Additional Estimates 23-27 February 2015

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: Outcome 2: Indigenous

Topic: Work for the Dole – geographical application

Senator: Senator the Hon Jan McLucas

Question reference number: 73

Type of question: FPA Friday 27 February 2015, pages 46-47

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 10 April 2015

Number of pages: 3

Question:

Senator SIEWERT: Thank you. Where is it going to apply?

Mr Eccles: In the RJCP regions, which is essentially for remote Australia.

Senator SIEWERT: Just to Aboriginal people.

Mr Eccles: No.

Senator SIEWERT: Anyone who lives in a region is going to be—

Mr Eccles: Yes, absolutely.

Senator Scullion: In an RJCP footprint rather than region. It is a specifically defined area.

Senator SIEWERT: Yes, I understood that, the 60—Senator McLUCAS: Which are Aboriginal communities.

Senator Scullion: No, there are a number of RJCP areas that are certainly not only Aboriginal

communities.

Senator McLUCAS: Which ones are they?

Senator Scullion: I would need to get some advice on that, but I know that—

Mr Bulman: It is quite a large area—it is 76 per cent of the geographical space of Australia. We have areas like Cocos Island where there is no Indigenous population. We have town centres and remote communities. It is certainly not just discrete Aboriginal communities or Torres Strait Islander communities. It is a lot broader than that.

Senator McLUCAS: Are you are going to give that list to us—to provide some clarity? Mr Bulman: Absolutely, and it is published online, but we will provide it on notice.

Answer:

The attached list provides the breakdown of the 60 RJCP regions as at 31 December 2014.

List of RJCP regions (as at 31 December 2014)

State/Territory	RJCP Region	Region Name
WA	1	Christmas-Cocos Islands
	2	Kambalda/Norseman Region WA
	3	Ngaanyatjarra Lands WA
	4	Yaaliku Region WA
	5	Mid West - West Region WA
	6	Gascoyne Region WA
	7	Mid West - East Region WA
	8	Karratha Region WA
	9	Port Hedland Region WA
	10	Western Desert Region WA
	11	Kullarri Region WA
	12	Fitzroy Valley Region WA
	13	Halls Creek/Tjurabalan Region WA
	14	Derby/Gibb River Region WA
	15	East Kimberley Region WA
SA	16	Eyre Region SA
	17	Far West Region SA
	18	Flinders and Far North Region SA
	19	Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands SA
NT	20	South East Alice Region NT
	21	South West Alice Region NT
	22	West Alice Region NT
	23	Alice Springs District NT
	24	North East Alice Region NT
	25	North West Alice Region NT
	26	South East Barkly Region NT
	27	Far West Alice Region NT
	28	North Barkly Region NT
	29	Gulf Region NT
	30	Ngukurr/Numbulwar Region NT
	31	Katherine Region NT
	32	Victoria River Region NT
	33	Central Arnhem Region NT
	34	Wadeye Region NT
	35	Darwin Daly Region NT
	36	Tiwi Region NT
	37	West Arnhem Region NT
	38	Maningrida Region NT
	39	Milingimbi/Ramingining Region NT
	40	Galiwin'ku Region NT
	41	Gapuwiyak-Yirrkala Region NT
	42	Groote Region NT
NSW	43	Far West Region NSW
	44	Upper Darling Region NSW
QLD	45	South West Region QLD
	46	Central West Region QLD
	47	Cloncurry Region QLD
	48	West Isa/Alpurrurulam Region QLD
	49	Doomadgee Region QLD

50	Palm Island QLD
51	Wellesley Islands QLD
52	Western Tablelands Region QLD
53	Carpentaria Region QLD
54	Cook Region QLD
55	Kowanyama/Pormpuraaw Region QLD
56	Central Cape Region QLD
57	Western Cape Region QLD
58	Northern Peninsula Area QLD
59	Torres Strait Islands QLD
60	Aurukun/Coen Region QLD