Senate Standing Committee on Education and Employment - Education

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Budget Estimates 2014-2015

Agency - Australian Research Council (ARC)

Department of Education Question No. ED0345_15

Senator Carr asked on 5 June 2014 , Hansard page 11

Question

Future fellowships

Senator KIM CARR: There is one other specific criteria of the previous scheme. In fact, one of the things that I was particularly proud of was that we could get so many internationals to come here. Where was the 2006 Prime Minister's Prize for Science awardee born? Ms Harvey: We would have to take that on notice.

Answer

The Australian Research Council has provided the following response.

2006 Prime Minister's Prize for Science awardee was Professor Mandyam Veerambudi Srinivasan. Responsibility for the Prime Minister's Prizes rests with the Department of Industry.