Economics Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Industry, Innovation and Science Portfolio Budget Estimates Hearing 2016-17 6 May 2016

AGENCY/DEPARTMENT: Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

TOPIC: Advisory Committee

REFERENCE: Question on Notice (Hansard, 6 May 2016, page 105)

QUESTION No.: BI-9

Senator KETTER: The Oceans and Atmosphere division has an advisory committee, is that correct?

Mr Roy: There is an advisory committee for each one of our business units there. They would have an advisory committee.

Senator KETTER: Can you tell me the name of that advisory?

Mr Roy: It is unusually named like Oceans and Atmosphere 'flagship' or 'strategic advisory committee'; they are generic across each one of our major business units. Their key role is to support and advise the business unit leader—in that case, Dr Ken Lee—on strategic matters, act as advocates externally for the business unit and act as ambassadors for the business unit. It is a fairly broad-reaching role. It is not a governance role; it is, however, an advisory role.

Senator KETTER: It is called the Oceans and Atmosphere advisory committee?

Mr Roy: It would be the strategic advisory committee, I think. That is representative of the name. Senator KETTER: I am just trying to get the name right.

Mr Roy: The name of the business unit is Oceans and Atmosphere, and then they have a strategic advisory committee supporting them.

Senator KETTER: Can you tell me who is on that committee?

Mr Roy: Not off the top of my head, but I can take that on notice. It may even be on our website.

Senator KETTER: Okay. When were those members of the committee appointed?

Mr Roy: Again, I would have to take the appointment of those members on notice, but I can say that we have had a strategic advisory committee, previously known as the flagship advisory committee, for that flagship or business unit since 2003.

ANSWER

The name of the committee is the CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere Advisory Committee.

Committee member	Appointment date
Dr Ian Poiner (Chair)	19 May 2015
Dr Neville Smith	4 May 2015
Ms Diane Tarte	21 April 2015
Dr Sandra Schuster	13 May 2015
Dr Rod Lukatelich	21 May 2015
Professor Glenn Hurry	6 May 2015
Mr Ken Fitzpatrick	30 September 2015