Economics Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Industry, Innovation and Science Portfolio 2015-16 Additional Budget Estimates 11 February 2016

DEPARTMENT: DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY, INNOVATION AND SCIENCE

TOPIC: NISA Committee

REFERENCE: Written question – Senator Carr

QUESTION No.: AI-115

The National Innovation and Science Agenda states that the new office of Innovation and Science Australia will be accountable to the Industry Minister through an Innovation and Science Committee of Cabinet, chaired by the Prime Minister. Who sits on the Committee? Has it met yet? How often will it met? When is it meeting next?

ANSWER

The members of the Innovation and Science Committee of Cabinet are: Prime Minister (Chair), Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Treasurer, Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science (Deputy Chair), Minister for Health, Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Trade, Cabinet Secretary, Assistant Cabinet Secretary, Assistant Minister for Science, Assistant Minister for Innovation.

The Innovation and Science Committee of Cabinet held its inaugural meeting on 23 February 2016.

Information on scheduling of Cabinet and Committee meetings remains confidential, in line with the practice of successive governments.