# Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Answers to questions on notice **Environment portfolio** 

Question No: 200

**Hearing**: Budget Estimates

Outcome: Agency

**Programme**: Climate Change Authority

**Topic**: Members of the Climate Change Authority Board

Hansard Page: 77

Question Date: 26 May 2015

**Question Type**: Spoken

## Senator Urquhart asked:

**Ms Thompson:** I do not have details of the qualifications of the board with me. I can run through the names and give you a broad indication of their areas of expertise.

Senator URQUHART: If you could do that, and maybe take the other on notice if you are able

to?

**Ms Thompson:** Yes, very happy to do that.

#### Answer:

The Climate Change Authority currently has four board members and one ex-officio member. Their respective qualifications and experience are:

#### Chair: Mr Bernie Fraser

On 10 July 2011, the Prime Minister announced that Mr Bernie Fraser was to be the first Chair of the Climate Change Authority. Mr Fraser was appointed on 1 July 2012, for five years.

Mr Fraser has a BA from University of New England and has decades of experience in public economic policy and business. Mr Fraser was Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1989 to 1996, having previously been Secretary of the Treasury from 1984 to 1989. Mr Fraser was more recently Chairman of Members Equity Bank, as well as a director of two of Australia's largest superannuation funds, AustralianSuper and Cbus, positions he held for 15 years.

### **Professor Clive Hamilton**

Professor Hamilton AM was appointed a member of the Authority on 1 July 2012 for a term of five years. He holds the Vice-Chancellor's Chair and is Professor of Public Ethics at the Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, Charles Sturt University. For 14 years, he was the Executive Director of The Australia Institute, a progressive think tank. He holds an arts degree from the Australian National University (ANU) and an economics degree from the University of Sydney and completed his doctorate in economics at the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex. Before establishing The Australia Institute, Professor Hamilton taught in the Graduate Program in the Economics of Development at ANU then joined the Australian Public Service, first with the Bureau of Industry Economics and then at the Resource Assessment Commission. He also worked as a resource economist in Indonesia. He is a member of a Royal Society's group studying climate geoengineering. Professor Hamilton has held visiting academic positions at Yale University, University of Cambridge and the University of Oxford. In 2009 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

## **Professor David Karoly**

Professor Karoly was appointed a member of the Authority on July 1 2012 for a term of five years. He is Professor of Atmospheric Science in the University of Melbourne's School of Earth Sciences. He has a science honours degree in applied mathematics from Monash University and completed his PhD in meteorology from the University of Reading, England in 1980. His research expertise is in climate variability and climate change, including greenhouse climate change, stratospheric ozone depletion and interannual climate variations due to El Niño-Southern Oscillation. Professor Karoly was Chair of the Premier of Victoria's Climate Change Reference Group during 2008-09, a member of the Australian Academy of Sciences' National Committee on Earth System Science during 2008-2014, and a member of the Australian Government's High Level Coordinating Group on Climate Change Science during 2009-2011. Professor Karoly is also a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists.

## Professor John Quiggin

Professor Quiggin was appointed a member of the Authority on 1 July 2012 for a term of five years. He is an Australian Laureate Fellow at the University of Queensland. He studied at the Australian National University, obtaining bachelor's degrees in Arts and Economics and a master's degree in Economics, and was awarded his PhD from the University of New England in 1988. He has held academic positions at the Australian National University, James Cook University, the University of Maryland, the University of Sydney, Johns Hopkins University and the University of Queensland and was a board member of the Queensland Competition Authority. Professor Quiggin is among the top 500 economists in the world according to IDEAS/Respect and is best known for his work on utility theory. Professor Quiggin has frequently been recognised for his research, including twice receiving Federation Fellowships from the Australian Research Council. His most recent book, Zombie Economics: How Dead Ideas Still Walk among Us, was published in October 2010 from Princeton University Press. Professor Quiggin is a Fellow of the Econometric Society and in 2011 received the Distinguished Fellow Award of the Economic Society of Australia.

Ex Officio Member: Chief Scientist; Professor Ian Chubb AC, MSc, DPhil (Oxon), FACE, FTSE, FSRN, Hon DSc (Flinders), Hon DLitt (CDU), Hon DUniv (ANU), Hon LL.D (Monash), Hon DUniv (SCU).

The Climate Change Authority Act 2011 appoints the Chief Scientist as an ex officio Member of the Climate Change Authority. The current Chief Scientist, Professor Ian Chubb AC, began his three-year term on 23 May 2011. This was subsequently extended till December 2015. Professor Chubb has had a distinguished career in higher education and research and recently retired after a decade as vice-chancellor of the Australian National University. A neuroscientist by training, he has co-authored some 70 full papers and co-edited one book all related to his research. He later took on leadership roles in university administration and sector advocacy bodies. Professor Chubb has previously been named the ACT's Australian of the Year for his contribution to higher education.