#### Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee Answers to questions on notice Environment portfolio

| Question No:   | 82                                  |
|----------------|-------------------------------------|
| Hearing:       | Additional Estimates                |
| Outcome:       | Outcome 3                           |
| Programme:     | Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) |
| Topic:         | Focus group membership              |
| Hansard Page:  | 50                                  |
| Question Date: | 23 February 2015                    |
| Question Type: | Spoken                              |

#### Senator Singh asked:

Senator SINGH: What is the membership makeup of each of those focus groups? Dr Fleming: Can I take that on notice? I can provide you with the departmental membership of the focus groups.

#### Answer:

Four inter-departmental groups have been established to address 20 Year Australian Antarctic Strategic Plan report recommendations clustered around a common theme. Membership of the groups is as follows:

# Sovereign, Strategic and Diplomatic

Attorney-General's Department Australian Fisheries Management Authority Australian Maritime Safety Authority Department of Defence Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (co-chair) Department of Immigration and Border Protection Department of Industry and Science Department of the Environment (co-chair) Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Geoscience Australia Office of National Assessments

# Science

Australian Research Council

Bureau of Meteorology

Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation

Department of Education and Training

Department of Industry and Science

Department of the Environment (chair)

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Geoscience Australia

# Tasmania

Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Department of the Environment (chair) Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Tasmanian Major Projects Approval Agency (Department of Industry and Science) The Treasury

# Modernisation

Bureau of Meteorology Department of Defence Department of Immigration and Border Protection Department of the Environment (chair) Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Royal Australian Air Force Royal Australian Navy