Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Answers to questions on notice **Environment portfolio**

Question No: 57

Hearing: Additional Estimates

Outcome: Outcome 1

Programme: Wildlife Heritage and Marine Division (WHM)

Topic: National Biosecurity Committee

Hansard Page: 5

Question Date: 23 February 2015

Question Type: Spoken

Senator Singh asked:

Senator SINGH: With the committee that the Department of Agriculture leads, do you have some detail as to how many and who from this department participate in it? How many state entities are a part of that? Can you break down the actual detail of the structure? Mr Thompson: I would have to come back to you in that later session, if that is alright, with the precise details. We participate through one of our departmental officers. I am a nominated lead contact, I think, for that committee. But participation is mainly through one of the more junior officers.

Answer:

- The Chair of the National Biosecurity Committee is the Secretary of the Department of Agriculture. The Department of Agriculture's Deputy Secretary, Biosecurity is also a member of the Committee.
- The Department of the Environment representative on the Committee is
 Mr Malcolm Thompson, Deputy Secretary. Mr Thompson's nominated proxy for the
 Committee is Mr Paul Murphy, Assistant Secretary, Wildlife Trade and Biosecurity Branch.
 Mr Murphy is usually accompanied by the Director, Environmental Biosecurity Section at
 meetings of the Committee.
- In addition to representatives from the Department of Agriculture and the Department of the Environment, all Australian states and territories are members of the National Biosecurity Committee, as follows:
- Four committees report directly to the National Biosecurity Committee:
 - Animal Health Committee
 - Plant Health Committee
 - Invasive Plants and Animals Committee
 - Marine Pest Sectoral Committee
- Short-term task-specific expert groups are established by the Committee, as required, to progress priority reforms under the Intergovernmental Agreement on Biosecurity.