Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee

Answers to questions on notice **Environment portfolio**

Question No: 52

Hearing: Additional Estimates

Outcome: Outcome 1

Programme: Science

Topic: Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large

Coal Mining Development

Hansard Page: N/A

Question Date: 23 February 2015

Question Type: Written

Senator Urquhart asked:

Could you please provide information on the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam gas and Large Coal Mining Development? What I am seeking is membership, budget and expenditure broken down into sitting fees, travel, administrative costs etc. Please provide this for the current financial year and the 2015-16 financial year (budgeted).

Answer:

Current membership of the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) is Ms Lisa Corbyn (Chair), Professor Craig Simmons, Ms Jane Coram, Emeritus Professor Peter Flood, Dr Andrew Johnson, Dr Jenny Stauber, Dr Tom Hatton and Dr Andrew Boulton. Further details are available at www.iesc.environment.gov.au.

The budget for 2014-15 is \$885,000 and for 2015-16 is \$885,000. Expenditure for 2014-15 to end January 2015 is: sitting fees \$230,000; travel \$83,000; meeting costs \$22,000; administrative costs \$3,000. IESC remuneration is in accordance with Remuneration Tribunal Determination 2014/08 (Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Part-Time Public Office) available at www.remtribunal.gov.au/offices/part-time-offices.