## Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications Legislation Committee Answers to questions on notice Environment portfolio

Question No:	157		
Hearing:	Additional Estimates		
Outcome:	Outcome 1.4		
Programme:	Wildlife Heritage and Marine Division (WHM)		
Topic:	Threatened Species Scientific Committee		
Hansard Page:	21		
Question Date:	11 May 2015		
Question Type:	Spoken		

## Senator Singh asked:

**Senator SINGH:** But isn't it the case that that scientific committee is currently made up of only four members, because six of the positions are vacant and have been vacant for a number of months now? That was in response to a question on notice that was provided to this committee. **Mr Thompson**: We might get Mr Richardson to address that. **Mr Richardson**: It is true that as of the time of that question being responded to on notice the terms of three members, I think, had expired, and two more were about to. I am pleased to note that as of a date in March— which I can get you if you would like—there have been five members appointed to the committee. It is now a full committee. **Senator SINGH**: Yes, if you can provide that to the committee, that would be appreciated.

## Answer:

On 25 March 2015, the Minister for the Environment, the Hon Greg Hunt MP, approved the reappointment of the Chair, Professor Helene Marsh and the appointment of five new members to the Threatened Species Scientific Committee. The Committee has a full compliment of ten members. Membership details are provided in the table below.

Member	Term Expires	State
Chair	30 November 2018	Qld
Professor Helene Marsh		
Dr Sue McIntyre	30 November 2015	ACT
Dr Sarah Legge	30 November 2015	NSW
Professor David Keith	30 November 2016	NSW
Professor Stuart Bunn	30 November 2016	Qld
Dr David Kendal	30 November 2018	Vic
Professor Colin Simpfendorfer	30 November 2019	Qld
Professor Kingsley Dixon	30 November 2019	WA
Dr Nicola Mitchell	30 November 2019	WA
Dr Hamish Campbell	30 November 2019	NSW