#### Senate Community Affairs Committee

## ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

# HEALTH PORTFOLIO

### Budget Estimates 2017 - 2018, 29 & 30 May 2017

**Ref No:** SQ17-000877

**OUTCOME: 2 - Health Access and Support Services** 

Topic: Mental Health Reform

Type of Question: Written Question on Notice

Senator: O'Neill, Deborah

#### **Question:**

12 Suicide Prevention Trial Sites:

Can the Department confirm if advice has been presented to the Minister and if a decision has been made on the specific geographical location of the 9 sites yet to be specified and located and what their focus will be?

#### Answer:

As a part of its commitment to *Strengthen Mental Health Care in Australia*, the Australian Government announced that there would be a total of 12 suicide prevention trial sites. Brisbane North, North Coast New South Wales, North Western Melbourne, and Perth South Primary Health Networks (PHNs) were announced as mental health lead sites conducting suicide prevention trials. The Australian Government also announced Tasmania and regional South Australia as additional suicide prevention trial sites.

In August 2016, the Prime Minister announced Townsville, Queensland and the Kimberley, Western Australia as two additional suicide prevention trial sites. In February 2017, the Minister for Health, the Hon Greg Hunt MP, announced Western New South Wales; the Central Queensland, Wide Bay and Sunshine Coast region; Darwin, Northern Territory; and Mid-West, Western Australia as the four remaining suicide prevention trial sites.

The Townsville trial site will have a particular focus on veterans. The Kimberley and Darwin trial sites will focus on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. The Department of Health is currently working with PHNs and local communities to identify regional suicide prevention priorities in terms of target populations (where not pre-identified) and geographical areas of need.