Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

HEALTH PORTFOLIO

Additional Estimates 2014 - 2015, 25 February 2015

Ref No: SQ15-000130

OUTCOME: 1 - Population Health

Topic: Chronic Disease Strategy

Type of Question: Written Question on Notice

Senator: Di Natale, Richard

Question:

On 2 December 2013, then Minister Dutton announced a new National Diabetes Strategy to combat the diabetes epidemic. In regards to this announcement, the Hon Judi Moylan and Professor Paul Zimmet were announced on 2 December 13 as Co-Chairs of the Expert Advisory Group - who are the other members of the expert advisory group?

Answer:

In addition to Co-Chairs the Hon Judi Moylan and Professor Paul Zimmet AO, membership of the National Diabetes Strategy Advisory Group (NDSAG) comprises:

- Professor Stephen Colagiuri Professor of Metabolic Health, Boden Institute of Obesity, Nutrition, Exercise & Eating Disorders, The University of Sydney;
- Professor John McCallum Head of Research Translation Group, National Health and Medical Research Council (represented by Ms Samantha Robertson, Executive Director, Evidence, NHMRC Advice and Governance at NDSAG meetings 2-4);
- Professor Andrew Palmer Head of Health Economics Research Unit, Menzies Research Institute Tasmania;
- Professor Alex Brown Indigenous Health Research Theme Leader, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute;
- Ms Donna Ah Chee Chief Executive Officer, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress;
- Ms Tracy Aylen President, Australian Diabetes Educators Association;
- Mr Mike Wilson Chief Executive Officer, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation;
- Dr Susan Alberti AO Chairman, Susan Alberti Medical Research Foundation; and
- Mr Nathan Smyth First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Division, Australian Government Department of Health (until 2 April 2015).