Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

HEALTH AND AGEING PORTFOLIO

Additional Estimates 2011-2012, 15 February 2012

Question: E12-351

OUTCOME 1: Population Health

Topic: PREVENTION AND COMMUNITY HEALTH COMMITTEE

Written Question on Notice

Senator Fierravanti-Wells asked:

In relation to the Prevention and Community Health Committee of the NHMRC, please provide details including:

- a) Who decided the membership of the Committee?
- b) What was the involvement of Minister Roxon and/or Parliamentary Secretary Butler, and/or their respective staff, in the selection or approval of the Committee members?
- c) Who applied to be a member of the PCHC?
- d) What is the remuneration of the members of the PCHC? Please provide details of remuneration to date for each member of the PCHC.

Answer:

- a) The then Parliamentary Secretary for Health, the Hon Mark Butler MP.
- b) Pursuant to Section 41(1)(c) of the *National Health and Medical Research Council Act 1992*, the role of the then Parliamentary Secretary for Health, the Hon Mark Butler MP, was to formally appoint members to the Prevention and Community Health Committee (PCHC).
 - Parliamentary Secretary Butler approved the membership of PCHC as proposed by the Office of the National Health and Medical Research Council following consultation with the Department of Health and Ageing.
- c) 123 people nominated for membership on PCHC.
 - The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) considers that providing the details of the unsuccessful applicants would be a breach of confidence as the applicants would not have expected their names to be publicly released.

d) Members of PCHC are paid a sitting fee and travel allowances in accordance with the determinations of the Remuneration Tribunal (Determination 2009/14, Determination 2010/11 and Determination 2011/09).

PCHC Remuneration

 Period Start
 1.07.2009

 Period End
 30.04.2012

Name	Travel Allowance
Prof Kerin O'Dea (Chair)	\$307.31
Prof Mike Daube	\$692.50
Prof Louise Baur	\$1,017.42
Prof David Roder	\$450.70
Mr Sebastian Rosenberg	nil
Dr Tony Hobbs	\$255.00
Dr Kylie Cripps	\$1,108.21
Dr Marlene Kong	\$554.20
Prof Ian Olver	nil
Prof Steve Wessinglingh	nil
Prof Melanie Wakefield	\$188.40

Name	Salary/Sitting Fees
Prof Kerin O'Dea (Chair)	\$154,635.74
Prof Mike Daube	\$4,522.00
Prof Louise Baur	\$6,213.00
Prof David Roder	\$5,036.00
Mr Sebastian Rosenberg	\$3,104.00
Dr Tony Hobbs	\$3,418.40
Dr Kylie Cripps	\$3,497.00
Dr Marlene Kong	\$2,334.00
Prof Ian Olver	\$3,902.00
Prof Steve Wesselingh	\$1,929.00
Prof Melanie Wakefield*	\$0.00

^{*} new member - declined fees