# Appendix 1

# Witnesses who appeared before the committee<sup>1</sup>

The committee held three hearings focusing specifically on big data on 11 December 2015 and on 2 and 3 February 2016.

### Friday, 11 December 2015 – Sydney

# **University of Sydney**

Dr Barbara Mintzes, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Pharmacy

#### Roundtable

### Centre for Big Data Research in Health, University of New South Wales

Professor Louisa Jorm, Director

Professor Sallie-Anne Pearson, Head, Medicines Policy Research Unit

Dr Julian Elliott, Senior Research Fellow, Australasian Cochrane Centre

#### **National Health Performance Authority (NHPA)**

Dr Diane Watson, Chief Executive Officer

### **Population Health Research Network (PHRN)**

Dr Merran Smith, Chief Executive

Professor Brendon Kearney, Chair

# **Centre for Data Linkage**

Associate Professor James Boyd, Director

Associate Professor Anna Ferrante, Deputy Director

<sup>1</sup> The hearings and witnesses listed in this appendix relate to the committee's hearing on 11 December 2015 and 2–3 February 2016 which focussed on big data, data linkage and related issues. A full list of the committee's hearings and witnesses is at the committee's website: www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary\_Business/Committees/Senate/Health/Health/Public\_Hearings.

#### The Sax Institute

Professor Sally Redman AO, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Robert Wells, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

#### Roundtable

#### **Council of Public Health Institutions Australia (CAPHIA)**

Professor David Preen, Director, Centre for Health Services Research, University of Western Australia

#### Australian e-Health Research Centre

Dr David Hansen, Chief Executive Officer

### **Australian Health Economics Society**

Professor Philip Clarke, Professor of Health Economics, University of Melbourne

# **University of New South Wales**

Dr Heather Gidding, Senior Lecturer and NHMRC Early Career Research Fellow, School of Public Health and Community Medicine

#### **National Rural Health Alliance**

Mr Gordon Gregory, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Andrew Phillips, Policy Adviser

Ms Fiona Brooke, Policy Adviser

### **National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation**

Dr Robert Starling, Chief Information Officer

### **Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)**

Dr Nathan Pinskier, Chair of the RACGP Expert Committee – eHealth and Practice Systems

### **Government panel**

#### **Department of Health**

Ms Alanna Foster, First Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy and Innovation Division

Mr Ian Crettenden, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy and Innovation Division

Dr Nicky Antonius, Acting Assistant Secretary, Information Knowledge Management Branch

# Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

Mr Warren Richter, Chief Information Officer

Dr Nick von Sanden, Unit Head, Statistical and Analytical Support Unit

### **Department of Human Services**

Ms Michelle Wilson, General Manager, Strategic Information Division

# Tuesday, 2 February 2016 - Canberra

### Roundtable

# **Northern Territory Government**

Dr Steven Guthridge, Director, Health Gains Planning

#### **SA-NT DataLink**

Mr Andrew Stanley, Director

Mr Christopher Radbone, Associate Director

#### Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

Mr Timothy Pilgrim PSM, Acting Australian Information Commissioner

Ms Angelene Falk, Assistant Commissioner, Regulation and Strategy

# University of Western Australia School of Population Health and Telethon Kids Institute

Ms Anne McKenzie AM, Consumer Advocate and Program Manager

#### **Telethon Kids Institute**

Professor Fiona Stanley AC, Patron and former director

### Wednesday, 3 February 2016 – Canberra

#### Roundtable

# **National eHealth Transition Authority**

Mr Peter Fleming, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Bettina McMahon, Head of Risk and Assurance

# Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Dr Robert Herkes, Clinical Director

Ms Catherine Katz, Director, Safety and Quality Improvement Systems and Inter-governmental Relations

# **Public Health Information Development Unit**

Professor John Glover, Director

#### Roundtable

# **Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet**

Ms Helen Owens, Assistant Secretary

Mr Tim Neal, Senior Advisor

# **Department of Health**

Ms Alanna Foster, First Assistant Secretary

Mr Ian Crettenden, Assistant Secretary

Dr Nicky Antonius, Acting Assistant Secretary

# **Department of Social Services**

Mr David Dennis, Branch Manager, Policy Evidence Branch

### **Department of Human Services**

Ms Michelle Wilson, General Manager, Strategic Information Division

## **Australian Bureau of Statistics**

Ms Gemma Van Halderen, General Manager, Strategic Partnerships and Projects Division

#### **Australian Institute of Health and Welfare**

Mr Geoff Neideck, Group Head, Chief Information Officer Group

Dr Nick von Sanden, Unit Head, Statistical and Analytical Support Unit