THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

SOCCER

A report from the Senate Environment, Recreation, Communications and the Arts References Committee

Second Report November 1995 © Commonwealth of Australia 1995

ISBN 0 642 22956 2 0 642 23573 2

Cover Photos of young soccer players provided by the Australian Soccer Federation.

Left Inset: Two young soccer players, photographer unknown

Centre Inset: Group of young soccer players, photographer unknown

Right Inset: One young soccer player, photograph by Mr Ron Hughes

Cover design by Senate Publishing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

This document was produced from camera ready copy and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

	Page No
Membership of the Committee	i
Terms of Reference	111.
Summary	V
Findings and Recommendations	
Preamble	1
Women in Soccer	5
Adverse comment	6
Power of subpoena	7
Conclusions and Recommendations Arising from the	
Committee's Further Investigations	9
Implementation of Recommendations of First Report	9
Inquiries since the First Report -	
Australian Institute of Sport	17
Minority First Report by Government Senators	
A Response	21
Appendix 1 – List of Submissions	25
Appendix 2 – List of Public Hearings and Witnesses	29
Minority Report by Senators Carr, Reynolds and Wheelwright	37

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

Core Members

Senator Meg Lees (AD), South Australia (Chair)
Senator Kim Carr (ALP), Victoria (Deputy Chair)
Senator Eric Abetz (LP), Tasmania
Senator Michael Baume (LP), New South Wales
Senator Paul Calvert (LP), Tasmania
Senator Alan Ferguson (LP), South Australia
Senator the Hon Margaret Reynolds (ALP), Queensland
Senator Thomas Wheelwright (ALP), New South Wales

Substitute Members

Senator Grant Chapman (LP), South Australia
Substitute member for Senator Calvert for part of the duration of the Soccer inquiry

Participating Members

Senator Julian McGauran (NPA), Victoria
Participating member for the duration of the Soccer inquiry

Former Members

Senator John Devereux (ALP), Tasmania (Former Deputy Chair)
Period of Appointment – 10.10.94 to 10.2.95
Senator Stephen Loosley (ALP), New South Wales
Period of Appointment – 10.10.94 to 19.5.95
Senator John Coulter (AD), South Australia (Former Chair)
Period of Appointment---10.10.94 to 16.11.95

Committee Secretary

Mr Robert J King

Research Staff

Dr Frances Michaelis

Executive Assistant

Ms Diane Strong/ Ms Debbie McMahon

Senate Environment, Recreation, Communications and the Arts References Committee Parliament House Canberra, Ph. (06) 277 3525, Fax: (06) 277 5818

