## Appendix 3

## **Countries with bans on all types of asbestos**

Asbestos has been banned in Australia since 2003. All other OECD countries, except for Canada, Mexico and the United States, have also banned asbestos.

Country	Date/year ban came into force
Algeria	14 October 2009
Argentina	1 January 2003
Australia	31 December 2003
Bahrain	1996
Brunei	Date to be determined
Chile	12 July 2001
Egypt	2005
European Union: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Lithuania, Malta, Romania, Portugal, Slovakia, Bulgaria, Spain, Luxembourg, Latvia, Ireland, United Kingdom, Belgium, France, Germany, Poland, Slovenia, Croatia, Italy, Finland, The Netherlands, Austria, Denmark, Sweden.	Commenced in 1983, with complete ban on all forms of asbestos in all 28 member states by 1 January 2005.
Gabon	between 2002 and 2004
Honduras	2004
Iceland	1983
Israel	2011
Japan	1 March 2012

92	
Country	Date/year ban came into force
Jordan	16 August 2006
Korea	2009
Kuwait	1995
Norway	1984
Mauritius	2004
Moldova	late 2016 ban planned and confirmed
Mozambique	24 August 2010
New Caledonia	2007
New Zealand	1 October 2016
Norway	1984
Oman	2008
Qatar	2010
Saudi Arabia	1998
Serbia	2011
Seychelles	2009
South Africa	28 March 2008
Turkey	2010
Ukraine	June 2017
Uruguay	May 2002

Source: <u>https://www.asbestossafety.gov.au/countries-bans-all-types-asbestos</u>