

# Appendix C - Witnesses who appeared at public hearings

Melbourne, 5 September 2012

# Office of the Victorian Privacy Commissioner

Dr Anthony Bendall, Acting Privacy Commissioner Mr Jason Forte, Senior Policy and Compliance Officer

# **Macquarie Telecom**

Mr Matthew Healy, National Executive, Industry and Policy Mr Christopher Zull, Senior Manager, Industry and Policy

# **Monash University**

Dr Patrick Emerton, Associate, Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, Faculty of Law

#### South Australia & Victoria Police

Detective Superintendent Noel Bamford, Officer in Charge, Investigation Support Branch, South Australia Police

Senior Sergeant Darren Hamilton-Scott, Policy, Training and Governance, Special Projects Unit, Covert Services Division, Intelligence and Covert Support Department, Victoria Police

Acting Deputy Commissioner Jeff Pope, Victoria Police Detective Inspector Gavan Seagrave, Officer in Charge, Special Projects Unit, Intelligence and Covert Support Department, Victoria Police Detective Superintendent Paul Sheridan, Victoria Police

#### **Human Rights Law Centre**

Mr Benjamin Schokman, Director, International Human Rights Advocacy

#### **Institute of Public Affairs**

Mr Chris Berg, Director, Policy Mr Simon Breheny, Director, Rule of Law Project

# Liberty Victoria

Mr Michael Griffith, Policy Committee Member Ms Lucy Maxwell, Member Professor Spencer Zifcak, President

#### **Electronic Frontiers Australia**

Mr Andrew Pam, Board Member and Life Member

# Canberra, 14 September 2012

#### **Australian Taxation Office**

Mr William Day, Assistant Commissioner, Criminal Law Treatments, Serious Non-compliance

Mr Greg Williams, Deputy Commissioner, Serious Non-compliance

#### Law Council of Australia

Mr Philip Boulten SC, Member, National Criminal Law Liaison Committee Ms Rosemary Budavari, Co-Director, Criminal and Law and Human Rights

#### Huawei Technologies (Australia) Pty Limited

Mr John Lord (Rear Admiral (Rtd)), Chairman Mr David Wang, Director, Business Development

# **Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association**

Mr Chris Althaus, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lisa Brown, Policy Manager

#### **Communications Alliance Ltd**

Mr Peter Froelich, Member Representative Mr Michael Ryan, Member Representative Mr John Stanton, Chief Executive Officer Mr Visu Thangavelu, Project Manager

# Sydney, 26 September 2012

#### **New South Wales Crime Commission**

Mr Peter Singleton, Commissioner

# **Police Integrity Commission**

Ms Anne Marie Bauer, Manager, Telecommunications Interception Unit Ms Michelle O'Brien, Commission Solicitor

# NSW, SA and Australian Federal Police Forces

Commissioner Gary Burns, Commissioner of Police, South Australia Police Acting Deputy Commissioner David Hudson, Special Operations, NSW Police Force

Commissioner Tony Negus, Australian Federal Police Deputy Commissioner Michael Phelan, Australian Federal Police Commissioner Andrew Scipione, Commissioner of Police, NSW Police Force

# **Blueprint for Free Speech**

Mr Simon Wolfe, Head of Research

## **New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties**

Mr David Bernie, Vice President

Dr Richard Bibby, Executive member and co-convenor, civil and Indigenous rights, police, security and antiterrorism powers and criminal justice subcommittee

Mr Stephen Blanks, Secretary

#### Crime and Misconduct Commission Queensland

Ms Kathleen Florian, Assistant Commissioner, Crime

#### NSW Young Lawyers

Mr Liam Boyle, Member, Public Law and Government Committee Mr Patrick Gardner, Chair, Public Law and Government Committee Miss Rebecca Welsh, Member, Public Law and Government Committee

## **Ericsson Australia**

Mr Kursten Leins, General Manager, Strategic Marketing

# Sydney, 27 September 2012

## **Telstra Corporation Ltd**

Mr James Shaw, Director, Government Relations Mrs Jane Van Beelen, Executive Director, Regulatory Affairs Mr Darren Kane, Director, Corporate Security and Investigations Ms Rachael Falk, Manager, Digital Privacy, Telstra Security Operations

# Vodafone Hutchison Australia

Mr Matthew Lobb, General Manager, Industry Strategy and Public Policy Mr David Moss, Agency Liaison Manager

## **Australian Securities and Investments Commission**

Mr David Lusty, Special Counsel – Criminal Law Mr Greg Tanzer, Commissioner

# **Internet Society of Australia**

Ms Narelle Clark, President

# Gilbert and Tobin Centre of Public Law, University of New South Wales

Dr Fergal Davis, Senior Lecturer Ms Nicola McGarrity, Lecturer

#### iiNet Ltd

Mr Stephen Dalby, Chief Regulatory Officer Mr John Lindsay, Chief Technology Officer Mr David Ohri, Herbert Geer Lawyers, External Legal Counsel

# Canberra, 2 November 2012

## Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoff McDonald, First Assistant Secretary, National Security Law and Policy Division

Mr Andrew Rice, Assistant Secretary, Cyber and Identity Security Policy Branch Mr Mike Rothery, First Assistant Secretary, National Security Resilience Policy Division

Ms Catherine Smith, Assistant Secretary, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch

Mr Roger Wilkins AO, Secretary

Ms Annette Willing, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch