

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES Inquiry into the allocation of land to diplomatic missions in the ACT

Chair: Senator Louise Pratt

New Inquiry into the allocation of land to diplomatic missions

The National Capital Committee has commenced a new inquiry into the allocation of land to diplomatic missions in the Australian Capital Territory. The inquiry will provide transparency and guidance in a process that involves a number of stakeholders, including the Commonwealth Government and agencies, the ACT Government, the Diplomatic Corps and ACT residents.

The Committee is to inquire into and report on the allocation of land to diplomatic missions in the Australian Capital Territory with particular reference to:

- 1. The roles of the National Capital Authority, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Government of the Australian Capital Territory (where applicable) and other relevant agencies
- 2. Forecast levels of demand and supply
- 3. The suitability of current property types and other options to meet the different needs of diplomatic missions
- 4. Options for the locations of future diplomatic estates.

Among issues to be canvassed will be possible new locations for diplomatic enclaves outside the traditional areas in central Canberra; the use of strata title; allowing subdivision of existing estates; and the use of smaller blocks for diplomatic missions.

Committee Chair, Senator Louise Pratt, noted community concerns about recent proposals to extend the Diplomatic Estate into new areas. "The Committee is keen to explore possible new ways to plan and configure the Diplomatic Estate to better provide for the needs of diplomatic missions while maintaining Canberra's central role as the National Capital and home of the Diplomatic Corps," she said.

Submissions are due by **Friday**, **1 February 2013**. The Committee would prefer submissions to be sent electronically to <u>iscncet@aph.gov.au</u>. Submitters are encouraged to read the information on preparing a submission available on the committee website before lodging their submission. Information on the inquiry will be available on the committee website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/ncet</u>

For media comment: Please contact the Committee Chair Senator Louise Pratt on 0448 264 129. For background information: Please contact the committee secretariat: Phone: (02) 6277 4355 Email: jscncet@aph.gov.au Website www.aph.gov.au/ncet