### APPENDIX TWO

# WITNESSES AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

#### FRIDAY 5 JUNE 1998 - Canberra

## **Australia Post**

Mr N Boucher, Manager, Parcels Business Planning

Mr G P Ryan, Secretary

#### **Australian Federal Police**

Mr D J Denahy, National Land Support Coordinator

Mr A S Luther, Coordinator, Commonwealth Territories Policing

Mr W J Stoll, Assistant Commissioner

### **OPTUS Communications**

Mr R I Smith, Representation and Industry Development

#### **Telstra**

Mr D A Higginbottom, Federal Government Liaison

Mr D L Kerley, National Manager, Network Transformation Network and IT Infrastructure, Network and Technology Group

# TUESDAY 16 JUNE 1998 - Norfolk Island

# **Norfolk Island Administration**

Mr S Mathews, EDP Manager

Mr W D Richards, Acting Program Manager - Economic Services

Mr C S Shaw, Consulting Technical Officer

### **Norfolk Island Data Services**

Mr R Ryan, Proprietor

#### **Norfolk Island Government**

Hon J G Robertson MLA

### **Norfolk Island Hospital**

Dr J M Ayton, Government Medical Officer

Mrs A V Webb, Director

#### **Norfolk Post**

Mrs T Rodgers

#### Norfolk Telecom

Mr K M Davies, Manager

#### **Individuals**

Mr G J Bennett

Dr J Walsh of Brannagh

Mr G R Woolley

#### FRIDAY 26 JUNE 1998 - Canberra

# Golden West Network Pty Ltd

Mrs S A Brown, Manager - Corporate, Prime Group

Mr D Carr, Legal Officer and Broadcasting Consultant

### **Australian Broadcasting Authority**

Mr J S Corker, Manager, Legal Section

# **Australian Broadcasting Corporation**

Mr P Canavan, Engineer

Mr I A McGarrity, Head of Development

Mr D B Soothill, Director, Communications and Planning, Special Broadcasting Service

#### **Commonwealth Grants Commission**

Mr R J Searle, Secretary

# **Department of Communications and the Arts**

Mr C M Cheah, Assistant Secretary, Competition and Consumer Branch, Telecommunications Industry Division

Dr B Hart, Assistant Secretary, Licensed Broadcasting Branch

Mr J B Neil, Assistant Secretary, Enterprise and Radiocommunications Branch

Mr C W Spence, Director of Broadcasting Development, Licensed Broadcasting Branch, Licensed Broadcasting and Information Special Services Division

Mr M J Sutton, Assistant Secretary, Regional Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund Secretariat

# **Department of Environment**

Mr R C Hart, Acting Director, Information Technology Network Services

Mr K F P Pitt, Assistant Director, Expedition Operations, Antarctic Division

# **Department of Transport and Regional Development**

Mr P G Lawler, Assistant Director, Indian Ocean Territories Section, Territories Office

Mr V H Mawhinney, Director, Pacific Territories

#### **Environment Australia**

Mr D C Griffiths, Director, National Parks and Wildlife

Mr P M Stevenson, Senior Project Officer, Biodiversity Group

#### WIN Television

Mr P M Gough, Group Chief Engineer

### FRIDAY 21 AUGUST 1998 - Christmas Island

#### **Christmas Island District High School**

Mr R W Carmody, Principal

Mrs S E Carter, Registrar

#### **Christmas Island Phosphates**

Mr R L Meecham, Senior Manager, Administration

Mr Choy Lan Seet, Executive Assistant

Mr J V Wildermuth, Senior Manager, Fixed Plant Maintenance

### **Indian Ocean Territories Health Service**

Ms Y E Burns, Manager and Director of Nursing

Dr A S Walley, Medical Director

### **IOCOMM Technologies Pty Ltd**

Mr B K Hill, Managing Director and Technician

Mr B M Hill, Systems Operator, Network Manager and Customer Support

#### **Shire of Christmas Island**

Mr K Lee, Deputy-President

Mr P Maberly, Chief Executive Officer

Mr A J Mockeridge, Councillor

#### **Individuals**

Mr G J Collins

### SATURDAY 22 AUGUST 1998 - Cocos (Keeling) Islands

### **Cocos Congress**

Mr H A (Rabuhu) Anthony, Chairman

Mr B Feyrel, Deputy Chairman

### **Cocos Islands Cooperative Society Ltd**

Mr Y Capstan, Vice Chairman

Ms Grace Casey, Chairperson

Mr W Dedian, Operational Manager

# **Cocos Islands Regional Business Association**

Mr J A Cameron, Chairperson

Mr J G Clunies-Ross, Vice President

### **Cocos Islands Shire Council**

Mr I Macrae, Councillor

### **Cocos Islands Shire Council, Home Island**

Mr N Anthoney, Manager of Administration

Mr Y Capstan

### Cocos (Keeling) Islands District High School

Mr B N Devereux, Principal

Mr S J Gossage, Teacher and Information Technology Coordinator

Ms Kim Winton, Acting Deputy Principal

#### **Indian Ocean Territories Health Service**

Dr G R Fisher, Medical Officer

#### THURSDAY 4 FEBRUARY 1999 - Canberra

# **Australian Broadcasting Authority**

Mr R S Greeney, Director, Technology

# **Australian Communications Authority**

Mrs E Alter, Authority Member

Dr R A Kelleher, Executive Manager, Consumer Affairs

# **Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts**

Mr J Cameron, Acting General Manager, Telecommunications, Competition and Consumer Branch

Dr Beverly Hart, General Manager, Licensed Broadcasting

Mr J B Neil, Acting Chief General Manager, Telecommunications

Mr C W Spence, Manager, Broadcasting Development

Dr D H Williamson, General Manager, Networking the Nation

# **National Office for the Information Economy**

Mr C Cheah, General Manager, Regulatory Framework and Bandwidth

Dr E L Roberts, Senior Analyst, Regulatory Framework

### **Department of Transport and Regional Services**

Mr P G Lawler, Assistant Director, Indian Ocean Territories

Mr V H Mawhinney, Director, Pacific Territories

Dr Andrew Turner, Assistant Secretary, Pacific and Indian Ocean Territories Branch

#### **Telstra**

Mr D A Higginbottom, Manager, Federal Government Liaison

Mr P R Kent, Regional General Manager, Network Infrastructure - Western