

Appendix C – List of hearings and witnesses

Christmas Island - Tuesday, 11 March 2003

Christmas Island Tourism Association (CITA)

Mr Fred Robinson, Treasurer

Christmas Island Chamber of Commerce

Mr Alan Hucker, Treasurer

Mr Paul McCallum, Chairman, Contractor's Subcommittee

Mr Peter McGovern, Member

Captain Don O'Donnell, President

Austasia Airlines Pty Ltd and Christmas Island Aviation Services Pty Ltd

Mr Edward Turner, Managing Director

Austasia Business Council

Ms Gee Foo, Project Officer

Economic Development Committee and Shire of Christmas Island

Mr Gary Dunt, Chair, Economic Development Committee; and Chief Executive Officer, Shire of Christmas Island

Union of Christmas Island Workers

Mr Gordon Thomson, General Secretary

Community Pharmacy

Mr Mark Baldock, Owner/Manager

Christmas Island Phosphates

Mr Mark Bennett, Environmental Manager

Mr Choon Foo Cheong, Resident Manager/Director

Mr Dan Gillespie, Consultant

Christmas Island Youth Coordination Group (Club HI)

Mrs Julie Colquhoun

Mrs Elizabeth Sorrenson

Asia Pacific Space Centre and Christmas Island Resort and Casino

Mr Michael Asims, Manager, Christmas Island Operations, Asia Pacific Space Centre; and General Manager, Christmas Island Resort and Casino

Private Capacity

Ms Virginia Jealous

Cocos (Keeling) Islands - Thursday, 13 March 2003

Cocos Islands Co-operative Society Ltd

Mr Signa Knight, Chairman

Mr Alan O'Grady, Financial Controller

Mr Balmut Pirus, Company Secretary

Shire of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Mr Bob Jarvis, Chief Executive Officer

Private Capacity

Mr Ron Grant

Mr Lloyd Leist

Mr Greg Croll

Mrs Tracey Evans

Mr John Clunies-Ross

Canberra - Friday, 28 March 2003

Australian Heritage Commission

Mr Bruce Leaver, Executive Director

Dr Ken Heffernan, Acting Director, Historic Heritage Management Section

Commonwealth Department of the Environment and Heritage

Mr Gerard Early, First Assistant Secretary, Approvals and Wildlife Division

Mr John Hicks, Assistant Secretary, Parks Australia South

Office of Federal Affairs, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Western Australia

Mrs Virginia Miller, Project Officer, Indian Ocean Territories

Commonwealth Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Mike Mrdak, First Assistant Secretary, Territories and Local Government Division

Mr Andrew Wilson, Assistant Secretaty, Non Self-Governing Territories, Territories and Local Government Division

Canberra - Monday, 12 May 2003

Commonwealth Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Mike Mrdak, First Assistant Secretary, Territories and Local Government Division

Mr Andrew Wilson, Assistant Secretary, Non Self-Governing Territories. Territories and Local Government Division

Australian Quarantine Inspection Service

Mr Timothy Carlton, General Manager, Finance and Information Strategies

Ms Jenni Gordon, National Manager, Animal and Plant Programs Group

Civil Aviation Safety Authority

Mr Rob Elder, Executive Manager, Corporate Affairs

Mr Arthur White, General Manager, Airline Operations, Aviation Safety Compliance Division

Mr Jim Shirley, Head of Airspace, Air Traffic and Aerodrome Standards Branch Mr Frank Wong, Principal Aerodrome Engineer, Air Traffic and Aerodrome Standards Branch

Mr Peter Ilyk, General Counsel

National Jet Systems

Mr Hugh Davin, General Manager, Business Development

Therapeutic Goods Administration

Dr Margaret Hartley, Director, Office of Chemical Safety
Dr Wafa El-Adhami, Deputy Director, Office of Chemical Safety

Centrelink

Mr Ronald Fernandez, Customer Service Manager

Mr Robin Salvage, National Manager, Business, Rural and Rent Assistance

Mr Phil Shakespear, Project Manager, Rural Services Team