

Joint Standing Committee on Migration

Issued: 8 May 2012

Telephone: 02 6277 4560

Facsimile: 02 6277 2219 Email: jscm@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/mig

Chair: Ms Vamvakinou MP

Deputy Chair: Mrs Louise Markus MP

Immigration department to discuss key issues for new arrivals

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship will shed light on key issues for new arrivals in Australia that have emerged from the Migration Committee's 12 month inquiry at a hearing in Canberra on Wednesday, 9 May.

Committee chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou said this hearing will be an opportunity for the department to add their perspective on these issues and respond to questions in what has been a broad ranging inquiry.

The Federal Member for Calwell said that there have been significant structural changes over the past decade. The inquiry has revealed important perspectives on the experience of new arrivals including refugees and permanent and temporary skilled migrants. The inquiry has also exposed the unresolved settlement issues of past decades, especially for rapidly ageing culturally and linguistically diverse communities.

"Bi partisan commitment to multiculturalism provides important leadership and promotes social cohesion," Ms Vamvakinou said. "It is important that Australia remains an open society that can provide access to education, work, affordable housing and other services, and encourage community participation. It is by meeting these everyday needs that we live with dignity, feel part of our communities and contribute our skills and creativity to the wider society.

"A whole of government approach, supported by qualitative research is crucial if we are to have the knowledge and insight necessary to develop responsive policies and programs."

The committee's public hearing will commence at 10.45 am in Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra.

Audio of proceedings will be webcast on http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/.

Full program and other information about the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website www.aph.gov.au/mig or from the secretariat on (02) 6277 4560.

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Media comment: Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou (02) 6277 4249 or Marianthi (Maya) Kypuros 0422 272 061 Background: Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2300