

Chair: Mr Kelvin Thomson MP

Treaties Committee to examine 20 new treaties

Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee has commenced an inquiry into twenty treaties tabled in the Parliament on 21, 22 and 24 June 2010.

The treaties tabled include amendments to the Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement (ANZCERTA) concerning Rules of Origin (Article 3) and Product Specific Rules (Annex G) in light of a joint Australian and New Zealand review completed in March 2010. These amendments are proposed to bring ANZCERTA into line with Australia's more recent Free Trade Agreements.

The Committee will also consider proposed Australian denouncement of the 1976 Convention on Limitation of Liability for Maritime Claims as well as 17 new taxation treaties with low tax jurisdictions intended to make it harder to avoid or evade Australian tax.

Organisations and members of the public with an interest in these treaties are encouraged to make a submission to the Committee. Submissions are requested by Friday, 16 July 2010.

The treaties being examined by the Committee are the:

- Exchange of Letters Constituting an Agreement with New Zealand to amend Article
 3 of the Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement;
- Exchange of Letters Constituting an Agreement with New Zealand to amend Annex
 G of the Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement;
- Tax Information Exchange Agreements with the following countries: Anguilla, Bahamas, Belize, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Principality of Monaco, Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts) and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Turks and Caicos Islands, Vanuatu and the Kingdom of Netherlands, in respect of Aruba;
- Agreements with Samoa and Kingdom of Netherlands, in respect of Aruba on the Allocation of Taxing Rights with respect to Certain Income of Individuals and to establish a Mutual Agreement Procedure in respect of Transfer Pricing Adjustment; and
- Convention on Limitation of Liability for Maritime Claims.

Copies of the National Interest Analysis and treaty text for each treaty are available at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/21june2010/tor.htm. Alternatively, interested parties may email jsct@aph.gov.au or phone (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS

For Mr Kelvin Thomson MP (Chair) contact: Mr Anthony Cianflone on (03) 9350 5777

For background information contact: Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4002

Telephone: 02 6277 4002
Facsimile: 02 6277 2219
E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au/jsct
Website: www.aph.gov.au/jsct

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600