The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Report 78

Treaty Scrutiny: A Ten Year Review

© Commonwealth of Australia 2006 ISBN 0 642 78838 3 (printed version) ISBN 0 642 78839 1 (HTML version)

Contents

For	reword	ν
Ме	embership of the Committee	vi
Res	solution of appointment	ix
List	t of abbreviations	х
1	Introduction	1
	Purpose of the report	1
	Program and participants	1
	Background	2
2	An overview of the seminar	5
	Introduction	5
	The seminar program	7
	Reflections on a decade	8
	Treaty making and review in a federal system	10
	New Developments in treaty making and review	13
	Perspectives from abroad	16
3	Assessing the 1996 Reforms in 2006	21
	Introduction	21
	The 1996 Reforms	21
	The 1996 Reforms ten years later	23
	The Treaties Council	24

The Standing Committee on Treaties (SCOT)	25
The tabling of NIAs	28
The Treaties Database	29
The Joint Standing Committee on Treaties	31
Appendix A – Program	39
Appendix B – List of Participants	43
Appendix C - Transcript	47
Appendix D – Speech by the Hon Alexander Downer MP, M Affairs	•
Appendix E – Additional Papers	143
Ms Dianne Yates MP, Treaty Review in New Zealand	143

Foreword

The seminar *Treaty Scrutiny: A Ten Year Review* was held on 30-31 March 2006 to mark ten years of operation of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties (JSCOT).

Under the Australian Constitution treaty-making is the formal responsibility of the Executive Government. The Constitution does not confer on the Parliament any formal role in treaty making. Nevertheless, through the work of JSCOT, the Parliament plays an important role in examining all proposed treaty actions that are tabled in Parliament.

Prior to the establishment of JSCOT, during the 1970s, treaties were tabled in Parliament but often in a manner which prevented meaningful Parliamentary scrutiny or input. Treaties were tabled in bulk, approximately every six months and often after they had entered into force.

By the 1990s Australia had entered into a period of negotiating a broader range of treaties - some of them quite controversial. There was also a growing awareness that international obligations affected domestic legal regimes and policy responses to a wide range of national issues. In recognition that Parliament ought to be able to scrutinise Australia's international treaty obligations, JSCOT was established in May 1996.

Over the last ten years significant steps have been taken to improve the openness and transparency of treaty making in Australia. Proposed treaty actions are tabled in Parliament before they enter into force and treaty texts and the rationale for entering into them are made readily accessible to the people of Australia. There are also mechanisms in place to ensure that the States and Territories are consulted on actions which may affect them.

After ten years of JSCOT it was fitting that a seminar be conducted to assess the 1996 reforms and to look more broadly at the role of the legislature in the treaty making process, both here and overseas.

Dr Andrew Southcott MP Chair

Membership of the Committee

Chair Dr Andrew Southcott MP

Deputy Chair Mr Kim Wilkie MP

Members Hon Dick Adams MP Senator Andrew Bartlett

Mr Michael Johnson MP Senator Carol Brown

Mr Michael Keenan MP Senator Brett Mason

Mrs Margaret May MP Senator Julian McGauran

Mrs Sophie Mirabella MP Senator Glenn Sterle

Mr Bernie Ripoll MP Senator Russell Trood

Hon Bruce Scott MP Senator Dana Wortley

Committee Secretariat

Secretary James Rees

(from 29/5/2006)

Gillian Gould

(until 28/4/2006)

Seminar Coordinator Serica Mackay

Seminar Staff Heidi Luschtinetz

Stephanie Mikac

Janet Holmes

Peter Banson

Clare James

Gaye Milner

Resolution of appointment

The Resolution of Appointment of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties allows it to inquire into and report upon:

- a) matters arising from treaties and related National Interest Analyses and proposed treaty actions presented or deemed to be presented to the Parliament;
- b) any question relating to a treaty or other international instrument, whether or not negotiated to completion, referred to the committee by:
 - (i) either House of the Parliament, or
 - (ii) a Minister; and
- c) such other matters as may be referred to the committee by the Minister for Foreign Affairs and on such conditions as the Minister may prescribe.

List of abbreviations

AP6 Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate

Change

ASEAN Association of South East Asian Nations

Austlii Australasian Legal Information Institute

COAG Council of Australian Governments

FTA Free Trade Agreement

ICCPR International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights

JSCOT Joint Standing Committee on Treaties

NIA National Interest Analysis

SCOT Standing Committee on Treaties

UN United Nations

WA Western Australia

WTO World Trade Organisation