

Appendix B - List of Participants

Dr Rachel Bacon, Attorney-General's Department

Dr Jeanine Baker, Sports Shooting Association of Australia

Phillip Barresi MP, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

David Bennett QC, Solicitor-General of Australia

The Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Education, Science and Training

Michael Bliss, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ruth Blunden, Treaties Secretariat, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Hugh Borrowman, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Gerard Brennan, Adjunct Professor, University of Canberra

Henry Burmester QC, Chief General Counsel, Australian Government Solicitor

William (Bill) Campbell, Attorney-General's Department

Andrew Chin, Parliamentary Library

Nicola Colbran, Attorney-General's Department

Svea Cunliffe-Steel, Office of the Clerk, Parliament of New Zealand

John Deller, Office of Dr Andrew Southcott MP

Graeme Dobell, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Alan Fewster, Former Director, Treaties Secretariat, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Gary Fleetwood, Australian Crime Commission

Dr Deb Foskey MLA, Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory

Dr Ivan Fsadni, High Commissioner for Malta in Australia and Dean of Diplomatic Missions

The Hon Nick Griffiths MLC, President of the Legislative Council, Parliament of Western Australia

Professor John Halligan, Head of School, School of Business and Government, University of Canberra

Georgia Harley, Attorney-General's Department

Ian Harris, Clerk of the House of Representatives

Kate Hastings, Department of Premier and Cabinet, Victoria, Standing Committee on Treaties

Jane Hearn, Inquiry Secretary, Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

Associate Professor Richard Herr, School of Government, University of Tasmania

Devika Hovell, Gilbert and Tobin Centre of Public Law, University of New South Wales

Senator Stephen Hutchins, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Peter Hutchinson, Department of Family and Community Services

Ken Jasper MLA, Parliament of Victoria

Annette Jasper, Spouse

Huyen Johnson, Spouse

Petrice Judge, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Western Australia

Professor Aynsley Kellow, School of Government, University of Tasmania

Senator the Hon Rod Kemp, Minister for the Arts and Sport

Dr Palitha Kohona, Special Adviser to the President of Sri Lanka

John Langmore, University of Melbourne

James Larsen, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Reneé Leon, Department of Justice, Australian Capital Territory

Michael L'Estrange, Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Leanne Linard, Policy Adviser Queensland Government

Keith Locke MP, Parliament of New Zealand

Professor William Maley, Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy, Australian National University

Greg Manning, Attorney-General's Department

Lester Martin, Treaties Secretariat, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Paul McBride, Department of the Treasury

Herbert (Mickey) Michaelis, Returned and Services League of Australia

Warwick Mitchell, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, South Australia

Dr Michael Morgan, Centre for Democratic Institutions (ANU)

Cherie Morrison, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Queensland, Standing Committee on Treaties

Professor Andrew Mowbray, Austlii

Michael Mugliston, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Richard Mulcahy MLA, Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory

Nazli Munir, Cabinet Office, New South Wales, Standing Committee on Treaties

Peta Murray, Department of Family and Community Services

Andrew O'Sullivan, Chief Minister's Department, Australian Capital Territory, Standing Committee on Treaties

Ruvani Panagoda, Attorney-General's Department

Genevieve Paterson, Student, Australian National University

The Hon Michael Polley MHA, Speaker of the House of Assembly, Tasmania

Lucy Richardson, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, New Zealand

Neil Roberts MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier and Treasurer, Legislative Assembly, Parliament of Queensland Andrew Rose, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Associate Professor Greg Rose, Faculty of Law, University of Wollongong

The Hon Kevin Rozzoli, President, Australasian Study of Parliament Group

Professor Kim Rubenstein, Director, Centre for International and Public Law, Australian National University

Associate Professor Shirley Scott, University of New South Wales

Mark Scully, Treaties Secretariat, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Greg Sheridan, Foreign Editor, The Australian

Dr Hugh Smith, Visiting Fellow, Australian Defence Force Academy, University of New South Wales

The Hon Sue Smith MLC, Legislative Council, Parliament of Tasmania

Toni Smith, United Nations Information Centre

David Spencer, Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

The Hon Georgina Te Heuheu, Deputy Chair, Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Select Committee, Parliament of New Zealand

Jonathan Thwaites, Director, Treaties Secretariat, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Anne Twomey, University of Sydney

Gerard van Bohemen, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, New Zealand

Dr June Verrier, Director, Democracy Building, John Kerin & Associates

Jennie Watson, United Nations Information Centre

Michael Watts, Office of Kim Wilkie MP

Robyn Webber, Clerk Assistant (Committees), House of Representatives, Commonwealth Parliament

Dianne Yates MP, Chair, Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Select Committee, Parliament of New Zealand

Ruth Young, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Western Australia, Standing Committee on Treaties