

Appendix B – Public Hearing and Witness List

Monday 5 March 2001 - Canberra

Austrade

Mr Craig Symon, General Manager, Export Finance Assistance Programs

Mr Michael Crawford, General Manager, International Business Services

Mr Greg Joffe, Corporate Adviser, Strategic Development

Mr Bernd Neubauer, General Manager, Invest Australia

Ms Meredith Wilkes-Bowes, Senior Policy Adviser

Embassy of Ireland

HE Mr Richard O'Brien, Ambassador

Monday 26 March 2001 - Canberra

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Zena Armstrong, Director, North and West Europe Section, Europe Branch, Americas and Europe Division

Mr Peter Baxter, First Assistant Secretary, Market Development Division

Ms Jill Cortney, Director, Subsidies and Trade Remedies Section, WTO Trade Law Branch, Trade Negotiations Division

Ms Jeannie Henderson, Acting Director, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei Section, Maritime South-East Asia Branch, South and South-East Asia Division

Mr Adrian Morrison, Acting Director, Trade Liaison Section, Market Development Division

Mr Jonathan Richardson, Director, WTO Regional and Free Trade Arrangements Section, Trade Negotiations Division

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr William Dejong, Director, Regional Adjustment, Regional Development Branch

Ms Susan Elderton, Assistant Secretary Cross-Modal and Maritime Transport

Mr Des Harris, Director, Regional Forums

Mr Christopher Stamford, Director, North Asia Multilateral and Regulatory Reform, International Branch, Aviation Division

Mr Anthony Wheelens, Assistant Secretary, Aviation Division

Department of Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business

Ms Gail Finlay, Assistant, Regional Strategies Branch

Mr Denis Hart, Occupational and Skills Analysis Section

Dr Kathy MacDermott, Assistant Secretary, Framework Policy Branch

Mr Scott Matheson, Assistant Secretry, Economic and Labour Market Analysis Branch

Monday 2 April 2001 - Canberra

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Bill Ellis, First Assistant Secretary, Land Transport

Mr Christopher O'Grady, Director, Rail Enterprise

Department of Defence

Ms Justine Greig, Director, Strategic Personnel Planning and Research, Defence Personnel Executive Mr Maurice Hermann, Assistant Secretary, Science Industry and External Relations, Defence Science and Technology Organisation

Dr Graham Kearns, Head of Industry Division, Defence Materiel Organisation

Commander Peter Ong, Deputy Director, Strategic Personnel Planning, Defence Personnel Executive

Mr John Popham, Director-General, International Materiel

Department of Immigrtation and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Abul Rizvi, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division

Mr Bernard Waters, Assistant Secretary, Business Branch

Monday 18 June 2002 – Canberra

Association of Australian Hotel Schools

Professor Michael Conlin, Chairman

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Ms Karen Curtis, Director, Industry Policy

Mr Brent Davis, Director, Trade and International Affairs

Australian Council of Independent Vocational Colleges

Mr Andrew Leary, Director

Australian Research Council

Mr Simon Sedgley, Director, Policy and Planning

Monday 25 June 2001 - Canberra

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Athel Beckwith, Treasurer

Professor John White, Secretary, Science Policy

Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Mr Grahame Cook, Head of Division, Innovation and Science Division

Ms Helen Georgopoulos, Head of Division, Business Competitive Division

Mr Michael Holthuyzen, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Mr Barry Jones, Executive General Manager, Invest Australia

Mr David Purcell, Principal Adviser, Strategic Investments and Policy

Singapore High Commission

HE Mr Ashok Mirpuri, High Commissioner

Monday 6 August 2001 – Canberra

Australian Manufacturing Workers Union

Mr Nixon Apple, National Research Officer

Department of Health and Aged Care

Dr Greg Ash, Director, Research Policy Section

Ms Christianna Cobbold, Assistant Secretary, Health Capacity Development

Mr Tony Kingdon, Assistant Secretary, Policy and International Branch

Mr Stuart McAlister, Director, Diagnosis Related Group

Ms Suzanne Northcott, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of National Health and Medical Research Council

Ms Lana Racic, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office for Older Australians, Aged and Community Care Division

Ms Elaine Ward, Director, Industry and International Support Section

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission

Mr Leslie O'Donoghue, Policy Officer, Community and Economic Development

Mr Geoff Richardson, Manager, Community and Economic Development

Mr Dillon Sothinathan, Senior Policy Officer, Community and Economic Development

Monday 27 August 2001 - Canberra

Communications Electrical Plumbing Union

Mr James Claven, National Industrial Research Officer

Department of Education, Training and Youth Affairs

Ms Rebecca Cross, Assistant Secretary, Australian Education International Branch

Mr Douglas Gorman, Assistant Director, Skills Analysis and Data Management Section

Mr Lucio Krbavac, Director, Skills Analysis and Data Management Section

Mr William Thorn, Acting First Assistant Secretary, International, Analysis and Evaluation Division

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Brent Davis, Director, Trade and International Affairs