

# **Appendix B – Witnesses at Public Hearings**

## Wednesday 8 May 2002, Canberra – Defence Sub-Committee

### **Department of Defence**

Mr David Anderson, Acting Director General, Resources Management, Defence Personnel Executive

Mr Lloyd Bennett, Acting Chief Finance Officer

COL Mark Bornholt, Director, Defence Force Recruiting

Mr Shane Carmody, Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services

Dr Allan Hawke, Secretary

AirCDRE Roxley McLennan, Director General, Career Management Policy

LTGEN Desmond Mueller, Vice Chief of the Defence Force

Mr Mal Pearce, Director General, Australian Defence Force Remuneration Team, Defence Personnel Executive

CDRE Louis Rago, Director General, Personnel Plans

Mr Michael Roche, Under Secretary, Defence Materiel Organisation

Mr Peter Sharp, Head, Strategic Workforce Planning Review

## Tuesday 21 May 2002, Canberra – Foreign Affairs Sub-Committee

## **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr George Atkin, Assistant Secretary, Middle East and Africa Branch

Mr Graham Fletcher, Assistant Secretary, Pacific Islands Branch

Mr Paul Grigson, Acting First Assistant Secretary, South and South-East Asia Division

Dr Leanne Kerr, Formerly Director, Canada, Latin America and Caribbean Section, Americas Branch, Americas and Europe Division

Mr Murray McLean, First Assistant Secretary, North Asia Division

Mr John Oliver, Assistant Secretary, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea Branch

Mr Bill Paterson, First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division

Dr Geoff Raby, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr David Ritchie, First Assistant Secretary, Americas and Europe Division

Mr Phillip Stonehouse, Director, India and South Asia Section

Dr Alan Thomas, Deputy Secretary

Mr Dominic Trindade, Legal Adviser

Ms Elizabeth Wetherell, Director, ASEAN, Burma and Cambodia Section

Mr James Wise, First Assistant Secretary, South Pacific, Africa and Middle East Division

#### **AusAID**

Mr Bruce Davis, Director General

Mr Scott Dawson, Deputy Director-General, Asia and Corporate Resources

Ms Annmaree O'Keefe, Deputy Director-General, Contracts and Corporate Policy

Mr Richard Moore, Assistant Director-General, Mekong, South Asia and Africa Branch

Mr Murray Proctor, Assistant Director-General, Office of Review and Evaluation

Mr Peter Versegi, Acting Assistant Director-General, Corporate Policy Branch

#### **Austrade**

Mr Anthony Fernando, Manager, Americas' Regional Office

Ms Margaret Lyons, Executive General Manager, Corporate

Ms Jessica Ramsden Smith, Middle East Indian Ocean Regional Office

Ms Julia Selby, Executive General Manager, Australian Operations/South Pacific

Mr Pat Stortz, Manager, South Pacific/South East Asia Regional Offices

## Monday 1 July 2002, Canberra – Defence Sub-Committee

### **Department of Defence**

Mr David Anderson, Acting Director-General, Resources Management, Personnel Executive

Mr Andre Bobets, Director, Entitlements

COL Ross Boyd, Director, Personnel Policy, Career Management Policy

Mr Jason Brown, Director-General, Safety Compensation and People Development

CMDR Michael Brown, Fleet Human Resources Manager, Maritime Headquarters

Mr David Cooke, Director, Compensation Policy

COL Anthony Cotton, Director of Psychology and Director of Mental Health

LTCOL Michael Cullen, Commanding Officer Deployed Forces Support Unit

WGCDR David Gaddes, Staff Officer Personnel, Headquarters Air Command, Royal Australian Air Force

BRIG Michael Hannan, Director-General, Military Public Relations, Public Affairs and Corporate Communications

WGCDR Anthony Hindmarsh, Deputy Director, Personnel Planning, Royal Australian Air Force

COL Michael Kehoe, Director of Personnel, Army

LTCOL Martin Levey, Commanding Officer, 1st Psychology Unit, Army

WGCDR David Lindsay, Assistant Director, Education Assistance Schemes

AirCDRE Roxley McLennan, Acting Head, Defence Personnel Executive

Mrs Latha Reardon, Graduate Research Assistant

CMDR Suzanne Smith, Director, Navy Employment Conditions, Navy

COL Malcolm Stedman, Deputy Head, Reserve Policy

MAJ Simon Stuart, Company Commander, 2<sup>nd</sup> Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment

MAJ Ron Tattersall, Team Leader, Separation Benefits, Directorate of Entitlements

Mr Glen Tye, Director, Defence Safety Management Agency

BRIG Douglas Tyers, Commander, Logistic Support Force, Army

COL Glen Wells, Director, Clinical Policy, Defence Health Service Branch

### **Injured Service Persons Association**

Mr Ray Brown, President, Welfare Officer and Pensions Officer

### **Department of Veterans' Affairs**

Mr Arthur Edgar, Branch Head, Defence Links

Mr Mark Johnson, Branch Head, Disability Compensation Branch

Mr Mark Travers, Director, Policy and Procedures, Military Compensation and Rehabilitation Scheme

### Manpower

Mr Malcolm Jackman, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Armed Forces Federation of Australia**

**MAJ Gary Skewes** 

#### **Defence Community Organisation**

Ms Judy Lachele, Director-General

Ms Jenny Reich, Social Work and Client Services

### **Repatriation Commission**

MAJGEN James Stevens, Repatriation Commissioner

#### Returned and Services League of Australia

BRIG James Townley (Rtd), Chairman, Conditions of Service Committee