

Appendix C – Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Canberra, Thursday, 5 August 1999

Australian National Audit Office

Mr Ian McPhee, Deputy Auditor-General Mr Colin Cronin, Executive Director

Australian National University

Professor Stephen Bottomley, Director, Centre for Commercial Law

Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

Dr Rod Badger, Executive Director, Information Technology, Telecommunications and Broadcasting

Mr Neil Bulless, Director, Enterprise Policy

Mr John Neil, General Manager, Enterprise and Radiocommunications

Department of Health and Aged Care

Mr John Reynolds, Acting Assistant Secretary, Corporate Development Branch

Employment National Administration Pty Ltd

Mr Rodney Halstead, General Manager, Corporate Affairs

Medibank Private Ltd

Mr Michael Whelan, General Manager assisting the Managing Director Ms Donna Moody, Acting General Manager, Finance and Business Development

Snowy Mountains Hydro-Electric Authority

Mr Vincent Good, Commissioner

Mr Glen Dewing, Acting Group Manager, Finance

Sydney Airports Corporation Limited

Ms Caroline Archer, Assistant Company Secretary

Melbourne, Wednesday, 8 September 1999

Australian Accounting Research Foundation

Mr Michael Sadhu, Project Manager

Australia Post

Mr Michael McCloskey, Manager, Board and Liaison

Mr Gerry Ryan, Corporate Secretary

Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants and the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia

Mr Colin Parker, Director, Accounting and Audit

Mr Ron Paice, Public Sector Accounting Consultant

Australian Stock Exchange

Mr Richard Humphry, Managing Director

Department of Finance and Administration

Mr Stephen Bartos, General Manager, Budget Group

Ms Megan Coombs, Branch Manager, Commonwealth Shareholder Advisory Unit

Ms Thea Daniel, Senior Adviser, Commonwealth Shareholder Advisory Unit

Productivity Commission

Mr Gary Banks, Chairman

Mr Robert Kerr, Head of Office

Mr Michael Woods, Commissioner

Mr Christopher Sayers, Assistant Commissioner, Economic Infrastructure Branch

Telstra

Mr John Stanhope, Director, Finance

Mr Graeme Ward, Group Managing Director, Public Affairs and Corporate Marketing

Canberra, Friday, 22 October 1999

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Ian Govey, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Legal Services Coordination Ms Philippa Lynch, Assistant Secretary, Office of Legal Services Coordination

Australian Government Solicitor

Ms Rayne De Gruchy, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Riggs, Chief Financial Officer

Australian Rail Track Corporation

Mr Geoff Atkinson, Manager, Finance and Commercial

Defence Housing Authority

My Keith Lyon, Managing Director

Department of Defence

Major General Peter Dunn, Head, Defence Personnel Executive

Mr Robert Tonkin, Deputy Secretary, Resources and Management

Dr Ian Williams, First Assistant Secretary, Resources and Financial Programs

Department of Transport and Regional Services

 $\label{eq:condition} \textbf{Dr Bernard Keane, Director, Policy Development and Coordination}$

Mr Gregory George, Acting Director, Rail Policy

Mr Peter Harris, Deputy Secretary

Ms Anna Clendinning, Assistant Secretary, Legal and Coordination Branch, Corporate Division