Chair: Steve Georganas MP Dep Chair: Steve Irons MP

## Committee to inquire into Overseas Trained Doctors' Registration and Support

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Health and Ageing has adopted a reference from the Hon Nicola Roxon MP, Minister for Health and Ageing to inquire into and report on the registration processes and support available to Overseas Trained Doctors (OTD's) in Australia.

In particular, the Committee has been asked to explore the administrative processes currently in place and determine how OTD's and the wider community can better understand the requirements in relation to assessment processes and appeal mechanisms available to OTD's.

The Committee has also been asked to report on the support programs available through Commonwealth, State and Territory governments and other professional organisations to assist OTD's in meeting their registration requirements. Ways to improve these services will also be investigated.

Finally, the Committee has been asked to suggest how impediments could be removed, and pathways promoted, to assist OTD's in achieving full Australian qualifications, particularly in regional areas, without lowering the current standards as set by professional and regulatory bodies.

Chair of the Committee, Mr Steve Georganas MP said that: "Overseas trained doctors form an integral part of Australia's medical workforce. This inquiry will assist those overseas trained doctors, both currently in Australia and overseas, to better navigate the path to full Australian qualifications, which to date has been a long and difficult process."

The Committee seeks submissions from interested individuals and organisations in relation to this matter. Submissions should be received by 4 February 2011.

Further information in relation to the Committee's inquiry, including Terms of Reference, details on how to lodge submissions and details of planned public hearings are now available on the Committee's website at

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/haa/overseasdoctors/index.htm.

**For media inquires,** please contact the Chair of the Committee, Mr Steve Georganas by phone on (08) 8376 9000.

**For all other inquiries**, please contact the Committee Secretariat by phone on (02) 6277 4145 or visit the Committee's website: <a href="www.aph.gov.au/haa">www.aph.gov.au/haa</a>.

Telephone: 02 6277 4145
Facsimile: 02 6277 4844
E-mail: haa.reps@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/haa

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600