



HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ECONOMICS COMMITTEE NEXT PUBLIC HEARING WITH RESERVE BANK

## **ATT: National Media – Diary Notification**

PUBLIC HEARING, NEXT FRIDAY 31 MAY 2002, SYDNEY

## House Economics Committee hearing with Reserve Bank Governor

The House of Representatives Economics Committee will hold its next public hearing with Reserve Bank Governor Ian Macfarlane and other representatives of the Reserve Bank at Sydney University in **Sydney** on **Friday 31 May, 2002**.

Following closely after the recent interest rate rise and the May 14 Federal Budget, this hearing will prove timely and significant. It will be the first time the Reserve Bank has appeared before the Committee for 12 months.

With the outlook for interest rates taking on a heightened focus, markets will be watching closely for indications from the Reserve on expectations for the economy over the rest of the year. The Reserve will also be questioned on progress in the area of regulating credit card fees.

- **WHO:** Reserve Bank questioned by House Economics Committee
- WHAT: Six-monthly Public Hearing
- **WHERE:** MacLaurin Hall, University of Sydney
- WHEN: Friday 31 May 2002, 10.00am 2.00pm

Attached/following is a floor plan for arrangements at MacLaurin Hall (not to scale). Entrance will be via the door at the bottom of the plan. Media requiring special arrangements please contact House of Reps Media Liaison **Geoff Dodd** on **02 6277 2063** or **0401 143 724**.

MacLaurin Hall is on the main quadrangle of Sydney University (nearest road: University Place). Parking next to the venue is limited and will be restricted to TV crews; all other media should seek alternatives. The hearing will be broadcast back to Parliament House, Canberra.

For further information about the hearing (non-media):tel: 02 6277 2022Susan Cardell, Inquiry Secretary, House Economics Committeetel: 02 6277 4565Trevor Rowe, Secretary, House Economics Committeetel: 02 6277 4565House Economics Committee:EFPA.Reps@aph.gov.au		
House Economics Committee.		
Chairman:	Mr David Hawker MP (03) 5572	1100 electorate; 02 6277 4837 parl house
Deputy Chair:	Ms Anna Burke MP	
Members:	Mr Anthony Albanese MP Ms Teresa Gambaro MP Mr Alan Griffin MP Mr Mark Latham MP	Mr Gary Nairn MP Mr Christopher Pyne MP Hon Alex Somlyay MP Dr Andrew Southcott MP