

# Appendix C - List of hearings and witnesses

## Friday, 6 June 2008 - Canberra

# Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Dr Evan Arthur, Group Manager, Schools Teaching, Students & Digital Education Revolution Group

Mr Russell Ayres, Branch Manager, Early Childhood Education Reforms

Mr Ben Johnson, Group Manager, National Training Directions Group

Mr Murray Judd, Director, VET Quality Branch

Ms Helen McDevitt, Branch Manager, Student Access & Equity Branch

Mr Colin Walters, Group Manager, Higher Education Group

## Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - Adelaide

## National Centre for Vocational Education Research

Ms Francesca Beddie, Manager, Research Management

Mr Mark Cully, General Manager, Research

Dr Tom Karmel, Managing Director

## Thursday, 28 August 2008 - Canberra

#### **CSIRO**

Mr Peter King, Adviser, Government Relations

Dr Heinz Schandl, Senior Research Scientist

## Thursday, 18 September 2008 - Canberra

#### **TAFE Directors Australia**

Mr Wayne Collyer, Board Member

Ms Deb Daly, Chair, TDA Board

Mr Bruce Mackenzie, Board Member

Mr Martin Riordan, Chief Executive Officer

## Thursday, 16 October 2008 - Canberra

## Australian Academy of Science

Professor Peter Hall, Secretary (Physical Sciences)

Professor Philip Kuchel, Secretary, Science Policy

Professor Kurt Lambeck, President

#### **CSIRO**

Dr Jim Peacock, Fellow

Dr Alastair Robertson, Chief Executive, Science Strategy & Investment

#### Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies

Professor Kenneth Baldwin, President

Mr Bradley Smith, Executive Director

## Thursday, 13 November 2008 - Canberra

## **Agri-food Industry Skills Council**

Mr Arthur Blewitt, Chief Executive Officer

# **Construction and Property Services Industry Skills Council**

Miss Danielle Calcutt, Office Manager

Mr Alan Ross, Chief Executive Officer

## **ElectroComms and Energy Utilities ISC**

Mr Robert Taylor, Chief Executive Officer

# Friday, 14 November 2008 - Sydney

#### Australian Council of Deans of Science

Prof John Rice, Executive Director

#### **Australian Industry Group**

Ms Megan Lilly, Associate Director, Education & Training

# Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

Dr Miriam Goodwin, Senior Adviser Research Management and Policy

Mr Steven McIntosh, Senior Adviser, Government Liaison

## Community Services - Health Industry Skills Council

Ms Di Lawson, Chief Executive Officer

## **Dusseldorp Skills Forum**

Ms Oona Nielssen, Executive Director

Dr John Spierings, Senior Strategist

## **Group Training Australia**

Mr James Barron, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Jeff Priday, National Project Manager

## Manufacturing Skills Australia

Mr Bob Paton, Chief Executive Officer

#### Resources and Infrastructure Industry Skills Council

Mr Desmond Caulfield, Chief Executive Officer

# Thursday, 5 February 2009 - Canberra

# Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Ms Donna Griffin, Branch Manager, Australian Apprenticeships Branch

Ms Susan Hewlett, Branch Manager, Industry Engagement Branch

Mr Rod Manns, Branch Manager, Funding and Student Support Branch

Mr Neil McAuslan, Branch Manager, Policy, Funding and Performance Branch