

Parliament of Australia

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications, Transport and the Arts

Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Inquiry into managing fatigue in transport

Public hearing program

Thursday 7 October 1999 Gazebo Hotel and Conference Centre The Waratah and Poinsettia Rooms, Sydney

Time	Person/organisation	Sub	Page
0830-0915	Australian Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineers Association Mr Iain Lang, Federal President Mr Chris Ryan, Senior Industrial Officer	27	344
0915–1000	Regional Airlines Association of Australia Mr Alan Terrell, Chief Executive	85	1405
1000–1045	Maritime Union of Australia Mr Padraig Crumlin, Deputy National Secretary	39	526
1045–1105	Short suspension		
1105–1150	Rail, Tram and Bus Union (National) Mr Roger Jowett, National Secretary	63	883
1150–1235	Dr Ann Williamson (UNSW)	28	363
1235–1335	Lunch suspension		
1335–1420	BHP Mr Tom McCabe, Manager, National Road Development Mr Colin Grant, Principal Consultant Business Development		
1420–1505	Australian Centre for Industrial Relations Research and Training Ms Kathryn Heiler, Research Fellow	77	1197
1505–1525	Short suspension		

Time	Person/organisation	Sub	Page
1525–1610	QANTAS Mr David Callaghan, International Relations Manager Mr Bruce Deahm, General Manager Line Maintenance Operations Captain Ian Lucas, Chief Pilot Designate	72	1139
1610–1655	FreightCorp Mr Lucio Di Bartolomeo, Managing Director Mr Paul Osborne, Manager, Train Crew Projects Mr Michael Holt, Manager, Quality and Systems Safety Mr John Hutchinson, Area Operations Manager, Hunter Valley Train Crew	79	1215
1700	Close		

Witnesses and members of the community are welcome to observe the public hearings. Scheduled witnesses and times are indicative and may change.