Ε

Appendix E: List of abbreviations

ACE CRC	Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre
ACLG	Australian Council of Local Governments
ALGA	Australian Local Government Association
ANEDO	Australian Network of Environmental Defender's Offices
ANU	Australian National University
ANZLIC	Australian and New Zealand Land Information Council/Spatial Information Council
AQA	Australian Quaternary Association
AR4	IPCC Fourth Assessment Report
ATSE	Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
AEMC	Australian Emergency Management Committee
BCA	Building Code of Australia
CAMBA	China-Australia Migratory Bird Agreement
СМА	Catchment Management Authority
CMAR	CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
CO ₂	carbon dioxide
COAG	Council of Australian Governments

CSIRO	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
CZM	Coastal Zone Management
DCC	Department of Climate Change
DEM	Digital Elevation Model
DEWHA	Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
EBM	Ecosystem-based Management
EEZ	Exclusive Economic Zone
EIANZ	Environmental Institute of Australian and New Zealand
EMA	Emergency Management Australia
EPA	Environmental Protection Agency
EPBC Act	Environmental Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999
ESD	Ecologically Sustainable Development
EU	European Union
FaHCSIA	Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
GA	Geoscience Australia
GBRMPA	Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
IAG	Insurance Australia Group
IBRA	Interim Biogeographic Regionalisation for Australia
ICA	Insurance Council of Australia
ICAG	Intergovernmental Coastal Advisory Group
ICZM	Integrated Coastal Zone Management
IGAE	Intergovernmental Agreement on the Environment
IPCC	Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
JAMBA	Japan-Australia Migratory Bird Agreement

LAPP	Local Adaptation Pathways program
LGA	Local Government Area
LGAT	Local Government Association of Tasmania
LGPMC	Local Government and Planning Ministers Council
LIDAR	Light Detection and Radar
MACC	Marine and Coastal Council
MOU	Memorandum of Understanding
NAILSMA	North Australian Indigenous Land and Sea Management Alliance
NCCARF	National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility
NCCOE	National Committee on Coastal and Ocean Engineering
NCVA	National Coastal Vulnerability Assessment
NDMP	Natural Disaster Mitigation Program
NEDF	National Elevation Data Framework
NES	National Environmental Significance
NEVSF	National Emergency Volunteer Support Fund
NGO	Non-government Organisation
NHT	National Heritage Trust
NRM	Natural Resource Management
NSCT	National Sea Change Taskforce
NRMMC	Natural Resource Management Ministerial Council
NRS	National Reserve System
PIA	Planning Institute of Australia
RAC	Resource Assessment Commission
RICAC	Remote and Indigenous Communities Advisory Committee

ROKAMBA	Republic of Korea-Australia Migratory Bird Agreement
RRRC	Reef and Rainforest Research Centre
SCCG	Sydney Coastal Councils Group
SEQ	South East Queensland
SLSA	Surf Life Saving Australia
TAR	IPCC Third Assessment Report
TSRA	Torres Strait Regional Authority
UNFCCC	United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
WWF Australia	World Wildlife Fund