Issued: 30 August 2011



HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, RESOURCES, FISHERIES AND FORESTRY

Inquiry into the Australian forestry industry

Chair: The Hon Dick Adams MP Deputy Chair: Mr Alby Schultz MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4500

Website: www.aph.gov.au/arff

Facsimile: 02 6277 4516 Email: arff.reps@aph.gov.au

Regional forestry focus

-Public hearing Thursday 1 September in Grafton—

The House of Representatives Agriculture, Resources, Fisheries and Forestry Committee will be conducting hearings for its inquiry into the Australian forestry industry in Grafton, NSW on Thursday 1 September 2011. Local community groups, academics, industry representatives and mill owners will give evidence to the Committee about the local industry, as well as about the future of the Australian industry generally.

The public hearing will be held in the Clarence Valley Council Chambers, Prince Street, Grafton, on Thursday 1 September, commencing at 8.45am.

The committee will hear from:

- Professor Jerry Vanclay;
- North East Forest Alliance;
- Clarence Environment Centre:
- Janelle Saffin MP, member for Page;
- Councillor Lindsay Passfield;
- J Notaras and Sons;
- **Hurford Hardwood:**
- NSW Forest Products Association Upper North East Branch;
- Australian Forest Growers Northern NSW Branch:
- Big River Group;
- Northern NSW Division of Timber Communities Australia; and
- School of Environmental Science and Management at Southern Cross University.

The Committee will also conduct a roundtable forum during the day.

The committee is keen to hear from these groups, and expects some lively discussion of a number of issues important to the future of the forestry industry. Members of the public are encouraged to attend the hearing.

PUBLIC HEARING—Grafton, Thursday 1 September 2011

WHERE: Clarence Valley Council Chambers, Prince Street, Grafton

WHEN: Thursday 1 September 2011, 8.45am to 4.30pm http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/ WEBCAST:

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, the Hon Dick Adams MP, on (02) 6277 4293 or email D.Adams.MP@aph.gov.au

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4500, email

arff.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's webpage at http://www.aph.gov.au/arff