

MEDIA RELEASE Issued: 26 June 2002

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott, MP Deputy: Jill Hall, MP

## Committee on Ageing to look at long-term strategies

A new House of Representatives Committee is to develop long-term strategies to address the anticipated ageing of the Australian population.

The House of Representatives Committee on Ageing is to investigate "long-term strategies to address the ageing of the Australian population over the next 40 years".

The Chair of the House Committee on Ageing, Dr Andrew Southcott, MP, says the inquiry will investigate a broad range of issues, including the current and future adequacy of retirement incomes, workforce participation, aged care, education, housing and health.

"The House Committee on Ageing is a new committee," Dr Southcott said. "Significantly, it is the first time a committee has been established to look into the broad issue of ageing, and indicates the serious nature of the issue.

"We anticipate that it will be a wide-ranging inquiry and the committee will need to consider both economic and social policy in order to arrive at coordinated and far-sighted recommendations."

The inquiry will build on the work of the Government's Intergenerational Report and encourage community discussion of the issues.

"I anticipate that the committee's inquiry will compliment the community consultation process in place following the release of the Governments National Strategy on Ageing," Dr Southcott said.

The inquiry was referred by the Minister for Ageing, Mr Kevin Andrews.

"As the Minister stated at a recent United Nations conference on Ageing, Australia, like many other countries, is on the threshold of major population change with the 'baby boom' generation about to begin entering retirement and our population growth rate falling," Dr Southcott said.

"Just as Australia wisely did 20 years ago in regard to superannuation, it is important that steps are taken now to establish a suitable framework to address ageing issues into the future.

"This inquiry is a significant part of the process of laying the strong foundations that can be built on to meet the future needs of all Australians."

For comment, contact Dr Andrew Southcott on (02) 6277 4283 (mob) 0419866699

For information and/or copies of submissions, contact the inquiry secretary, Mr Adam Cunningham on (02) 6277 2336, or visit the inquiry website at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing

The members of the House Committee on Ageing are:

Dr Andrew Southcott MP (Chair) Jill Hall MP (Deputy Chair) Anthony Albanese MP Ann Corcoran MP Teresa Gambaro MP Luke Hartsuyker MP

Greg Hunt MP Margaret May MP Frank Mossfield MP Tony Smith MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4145 Facsimile: 02 6277 8469

E-mail: ageing.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing/ PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600