

ThinkFuture Smart Infrastructure Conference 2010

12 March, Main Committee Room, Parliament House, Canberra, Australia

Hosted by: House Standing Committee on Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

CONFERENCE PROGRAM

8:30	Arrival - Registration			
9:00	CONFERENCE OPENS			
9:00	Opening Address The Hon Anthony Albanese MP, Minister for Infrastructure,Transport, Regional Development and Local Government Welcoming remarks from Infrastructure Committee			
9:30 Main Cttee Room	SESSION ONE: Opportunities for and benefits of smart infrastructure investment 3 speakers (20 min. presentations).			
	Glen Boreham (Managing Director, IBM Australia) Robin Batterham (President, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering) Karen Curtis (Privacy Commissioner)			
10:30	MORNING BREAK			
:00	SESSION TWO: Benefits and challenges of integrating smart technology into existing infrastructure			
	Workshops with speakers and discussion.			
	2.1 WATER SECTOR Convenors: Glenn Wightwick (Chief Technical Officer, IBM), Thomas Connor (Director Engineering & Technology, Kellogg Brown and Root) (Room IR2)	2.2 TRANSPORT SECTOR Convenors: Maxwell Lay (Director, Connect East), Alan Burns (Partner, Strategic Connections Group and Chair, Australian Rail Industry Corporation) (Room IR3)	2.3 ENERGY SECTOR Convenor: Martin Thomas (Chair – Energy Forum, ATSE) (Room 1S2)	2.4 COMMUNICATIONS SECTOR Convenor: Terry Percival (Laboratory Director; NICTA) (Room IS3)
2:00	Feedback to Plenary			
12:30	LUNCH			
l 3:30 Main Cttee Room	 SESSION THREE: Australian experiences in utilising smart infrastructure Presentations on smart infrastructure projects currently operating in Australia. Kevin Bloch (Chief Technology Officer, CISCO) Ann Burns (APAC Utilities Lead, Accenture) Matthew McKenzie (General Manager, Asia-Pacific, GE Energy) Danny Elia (Transurban General Manager, CityLink) Mike van de Worp (General Manager-Communications and Control Systems, ARTC) Alan Smart (Deputy Chairman, Spatial Industries Business Association) Sam Sangster (Chief Operating Officer, VicUrban) Paul Pettigrew (Program Director, SEQ Watergrid Manager) Steve Schmidt (Acting Director-Industry Solutions, Telstra) 			
5:00	AFTERNOON BREAK			
15:30 Main Cttee Room	SESSION FOUR: Future directions for government policy on smart infrastructure The Infrastructure Committee will lead a discussion with delegates about recommendations for future policy settings.			
16:30	Closing remarks from the Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Water			
16:45	CONFERENCE CLOSES			