APPENDIX 3: WITNESSES AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Melbourne, 19 February 1998

Australian Academy of Science

Sir Gustav Nossal, President

Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

Dr Gordon Brown, Executive Officer

Mr Peter Laver, Fellow

Australian Minerals Industries Research Association Ltd

Mr Richard Davies, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Michael Eager, Senior Vice Chairman of Council

National Competition Council

Mr Ross Campbell, Director, Government Business and Regulation Section

Mr Ed Willett, Executive Director

Rio Tinto Ltd

Mr David Brownscombe, General Manager, Commercial Research and Technology Development

Canberra, Thursday 12 March 1998

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Beth Heyde, Principal Secretary, Government Business and International Scientific Liaison

Dr John Radcliffe, Deputy Chief Executive

Canberra, Monday 23 March 1998

Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies

Dr Kenneth Baldwin, Convenor, Science Policy Committee

Professor Peter Cullen, President

Mr Toss Gascoigne, Executive Director

Institution of Engineers Australia

Ms Lynne Reeder, Associate Director Public Policy

Dr John Webster, Chief Executive

Metal Trades Industry Association

Ms Linda Botterill, Senior Industry Policy Coordinator

Mr Frank Forster, International Marketing Manager, Farley Cutting Systems Australia

Sydney, Thursday 30 April 1998

Australian Photonics CRC

Dr Mark Sceats, Chief Executive Officer

Rural Research and Development Corporations

Mr Ralph Schulzé, Executive Director of Committee of Chairs

University of New South Wales

Mr Peter Cook, Director, Research Office

University of Western Sydney

Professor Trevor Cairney, Pro Vice Chancellor, Research and Development, University of Western Sydney Nepean

Professor Jane Marceau, Pro Vice Chancellor, Research, University of Western Sydney Macarthur

Canberra, Thursday 28 May 1998

Electricity Supply Association of Australia Ltd

Mr Keith Orchison, Managing Director

Canberra, Monday 1 June 1998

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Brian Anderson, President

Department of Industry, Science and Tourism

Mr Christopher Birch, Acting Manager of Program Coordination Section

Mrs Vicki Brown, General Manager, Business Environment Branch, Industry Policy Division

Mr Michael Holthuyzen, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Dr Paul Wellings, Head, Science and Technology Division

Department of Primary Industries and Energy

Ms Virginia Greville, Assistant Secretary, Natural Resources and R&D Branch, Corporate Policy Division

Dr Simon Hearn, First Assistant Secretary, Corporate Policy Division

Mr Alan Newton, First Assistant Secretary, Crops Division

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Warwick Anderson, Chairman, NHMRC Research Committee (Public Health and Medical)

Professor Colin Chesterman, Advisor

Professor Nick Nicola, Member, NHMRC Research Committee (Public Health and Medical)

Mr Robert Wells, Secretary

Canberra, Thursday 4 June 1998

Australian Science, Technology and Engineering Council

Professor Ron Johnston, Convenor

Dr Michael Sargent, Working Party Member

Canberra, Thursday 25 June 1998

Department of Industry, Science and Tourism

Mr Christopher Birch, Acting Manager of Program Coordination Section

Mrs Vicki Brown, General Manager, Business Environment Branch, Industry Policy Division

Mr Michael Holthuyzen, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Mr John Spasojevic, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Dr Paul Wellings, Head, Science and Technology Division

Canberra, Thursday, 13 May 1999

Department of Defence

Dr Richard Brabin-Smith, Chief Defence Scientist