Β

Appendix B - Witnesses

Monday, 8 May 2006 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr William McFadyen Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Australian Centre for International Agriculture Research

Dr Simon Hearn, Senior Adviser

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

Dr Tony Haymet, Director, Science and Policy, Chief-on-secondment Marine and Atmospheric Research

Dr Ta-Yan Leong, Senior Adviser (International)

Department of Education, Science and Training

Ms Heather Dyne, Director, Science Strategy Section, International Science Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Miles Armitage, Assistant Secretary, Maritime South-East Asia Branch

Ms Elizabeth Peak, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Monday, 19 June 2006 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Dr Rachel Bacon, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

AusAID

Dr Neil McFarlane, Director, Africa and Multilaterals Section

Ms Julia O'Brien, Policy Officer

Department of Family and Community Services & Indigenous Affairs

Mrs Michalina Stawyskyj, Branch Manager, International

Department of Family and Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Peter Hutchinson, Section Manager, Agreements Section, International Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Elizabeth Donaldson, Executive Officer, United States and Canada Section

Mr Bruce Lendon, Director, Africa Section

Ms Elizabeth Peak, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Mr John Woods, Acting Assistant Secretary, Northern, Southern and Eastern Europe Branch

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Dr Richard Davis, Head, National Security Science and Technology Unit

Dr Robert Floyd, International Programmes Coordinator, National Security Science and Technology Unit

Department of Veterans' Affairs

Major General Paul Stevens AO (retd), Deputy Director (Administration), Office of Australian War Graves

Mrs Katherine Upton-Mitchell, Deputy Director (Administration), Office of Australian War Graves

The Treasury

Mr Leon Latimore, Analyst

Tuesday, 20 June 2006 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Dr Rachel Bacon, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary