

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 19 April 2011

Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety

Chair: Senator Dana Wortley Deputy Chair: Alex Hawke MP

SOFTWARE DEVELOPERS AND PARENTS COUNCIL TO FRONT CYBER-SAFETY COMMITTEE

ROAR Educate software developer, the Tasmanian Department of Education, and Mr Ian Dalton, the Executive Director of the Australian Parents Council, will give evidence at a public hearing of the Australian Parliament Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety in Hobart on Wednesday, 20 April 2011.

The Chair of the Committee, Senator Dana Wortley, said the Hobart public hearing provides the opportunity for the committee to hear the views of these organisations about how to safeguard children and young people online.

Senator Wortley said most young Australians were 'true digital natives' and had not experienced a world without the internet as a fast and efficient means of communication.

"Online communication is exciting, and provides many experiences and opportunities, but also bring some risks including cyber-bullying, identity theft, illegal content and contact from online predators," she said.

"For this reason, it's also important that parents are well informed when it comes to cyber safety so they can talk confidently to their children about online security risks."

Almost 30,000 children and young people have so far completed the Cyber-Safety Committee's online surveys. These surveys enable young internet users to share their online experiences, concerns and knowledge and will provide valuable feedback for the Committee. The surveys – one for younger children up to age 12 and the second for 13-18 year olds – are anonymous and easy to complete. They are available at aph.gov.au/cybersafety.

"It's pleasing that so many schools have encouraged their students to go online and complete the survey, and now there's time for many more young people to participate because the Committee has extended the closing date for surveys to Friday, May 6th," Senator Wortley said.

The Committee continues to welcome submissions on all the terms of reference.

The public hearing will take place between 9.00 am and 11.45 am in Committee Room 1, Tasmanian Parliament House, Hobart. Members of the public are welcome to observe the hearing.

The hearing will be audio-webcast live at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Further information on the inquiry is available from the Committee's website, <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/jscc</u> or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4202.

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Media comment: Committee Chair Senator Dana Wortley on (08) 82696520 or 0422 916496. Background: Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4202