

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 23 March 2011

Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety

Chair: Senator Dana Wortley Deputy Chair: Alex Hawke MP

CRIME FIGHTERS FRONT CYBER-SAFETY COMMITTEE

The Australian Federal Police, Attorney-General's Department and the Australian Institute of Criminology will give evidence at a public hearing of the Australian Parliament Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety in Canberra on Thursday, March 24, 2011.

Also appearing will be the University of Sydney Associate Professor Bjorn Landfeldt, a specialist in computer networks and telecommunication systems who will advise the Committee on solutions, feasibilities and barriers of existing and developing technologies.

"It is timely to hear from experts in the field about issues associated with the internet including cyber-bullying, identity theft and privacy, illegal content and contact from online predators," Committee Chair Senator Dana Wortley said.

"Social networking sites are drawing more Australians – particularly young people - online every year and for longer periods of time," Senator Wortley added. "Latest available Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) figures show that more than 11 million Australians use the internet for communication, business and social activities.

"Most young people are true digital natives, having never experienced a world without the internet and while online communication is exciting and simple, there are also potential risks that young people and parents alike must learn to recognise and address."

The public hearing will take place between 8:30 am and 10:30 am in Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra. Members of the public are welcome to observe the hearing.

The hearing will be audio-webcast live at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

The Committee continues to welcome submissions on all the terms of reference and will announce further hearings soon.

Further information on the inquiry is available from the Committee's website, <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/jscc</u> or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4202.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Committee Chair Senator Dana Wortley on (08) 82696520 or 0488244817.